In Bordeaux, Volotea literally flies away

Last updated:

Bordeaux-Mérignac airport is developing well. Today, it is possible to fly to many destinations in France but also abroad, which delights all Bordeaux who want to travel. In addition, they can travel at reduced prices thanks to low-cost airlines, such as Easy Jet, or Volotea, a French airline based in Nantes, created in 2012.

Arriving in Bordeaux in 2012, Volotea connects the metropolis to 28 destinations, including 26 in Europe, and has experienced significant growth in recent years. Indeed, travelling quickly for an affordable price is the best solution for many tourists, who prefer short trips, on a weekend for example, at the expense of long holidays, rarer. Thus, the company perfectly meets the expectations of customers who are many who want to leave… especially with last-minute travel offers at break-even prices. The only downside would be the frequency of some destinations, which offer only one route per week. A problem raised to which the company quickly found a solution: increase the frequency of connections to satisfy as many people as possible on destinations such as Menorca or Cagliari.

The airline can easily afford it: indeed, it has enjoyed a significant growth rate in 2017, and since its Bordeaux location, its flights are full.

Moreover, the forecast for 2018 is more than encouraging, with growth expected of 22%, thanks in particular to the increase in flights across Europe. For many French people, the plane is seen as a fast-track, but also expensive, means of transport. Enough to curb their cravings a little elsewhere. It is this reluctance that Volotea intends to change, by offering cheap flights to encourage more travel by plane.

These changes will also have an impact on the activity of Bordeaux Mérignac Airport: Volotea currently employs 85 people, and this figure will increase by 2018, with the greater need for staff to provide services and the reception of passengers. This is good news for the economy of Neo-Aquitaine and Bordeaux, which is entering a dynamic of growth, both demographic and economic.

The “Belle Endormie” thus becomes a destination of choice, close to Paris thanks to the LGV, but also thanks to the multiplication of destinations served by air, but also the number of flights that departs from Bordeaux! Beyond the influx of travellers, we can guarantee that all efforts will be focused on the necessary absorption of adequate infrastructure.

Audrey Kozaczka – Bordeaux Business

Sources:

Volotea

Air Journal

More Stories
Street Marketing to boost your business
X

MontBlanc
0
Aucun produit dans le panier.

BRÈVES

A Bordeaux, Volotea s’envole littéralement

18 octobre 2017, Auteur : Bordeaux Business

L’aéroport de Bordeaux-Mérignac se développe bien. Aujourd’hui, il est possible de s’envoler vers de nombreuses destinations en France mais aussi à l’étranger, ce qui ravit tous les bordelais qui veulent voyager. De plus, il leur est possible de voyager à des prix réduits grâce à des compagnies aériennes low-cost, à l’image de Easy Jet, ou encore Volotea, compagnie aérienne française basée à Nantes, créée en 2012.

Arrivée à Bordeaux en 2012, Volotea relie la métropole à 28 destinations, dont 26 en Europe, et connaît depuis quelques années une croissance très importante. En effet, voyager rapidement pour un prix abordable est la meilleure solution pour de nombreux touristes, qui privilégient les voyages courts, sur un week-end par exemple, au détriment de longues vacances, plus rares. Ainsi, la compagnie répond parfaitement aux attentes des clients qui sont nombreux à vouloir partir… notamment avec les offres de voyages de dernière minute à prix cassés. Le seul bémol serait la fréquence de certaines destinations, qui ne proposent qu’une seule liaison par semaine. Un problème soulevé auquel la compagnie a vite trouvé une solution : augmenter la fréquence des liaisons pour contenter le plus de personnes possible sur des destinations telles que Minorque ou encore Cagliari.

La compagnie peut aisément se le permettre : en effet, elle a bénéficié d’un taux de croissance important en 2017, et, depuis son implantation bordelaise, ses vols sont remplis.

D’ailleurs, les prévisions à l’horizon 2018 sont plus qu’encourageantes, avec une croissance prévue de 22%, notamment grâce à la hausse des vols à travers l’Europe. Pour beaucoup de Français, l’avion est perçu comme un moyen de transport rapide, certes, mais aussi coûteux. De quoi freiner quelque peu leurs envies d’ailleurs. C’est cette réticence que Volotea entend bien changer, en proposant des vols à petits prix pour inciter à voyager davantage en avion.

Ces changements auront également des conséquences sur l’activité de l’Aéroport de Bordeaux Mérignac : Volotea y emploie actuellement 85 personnes, et ce chiffre va augmenter d’ici 2018, avec les besoins plus importants de personnel pour assurer les liaisons et l’accueil des passagers. Une bonne nouvelle pour l’économie néo-Aquitaine et bordelaise, qui s’invite dans une dynamique de croissance, aussi bien démographique qu’économique.

La “Belle Endormie” devient donc une destination de choix, à proximité de Paris grâce à la LGV, mais aussi grâce à la multiplication des destinations desservies par voie aérienne, mais aussi du nombre de vols qui part de Bordeaux ! Au-delà de l’afflux de voyageurs, gageons que tous les efforts seront concentrés sur l’absorption indispensable des infrastructures adéquates.

 

Audrey Kozaczka – Bordeaux Business

 

Sources :

Volotea

Air Journal