Automobile and containment: on the road again…

Like many industries, the automotive sector is also subject to containment. Second time since the beginning of 2020 that this has happened. The first time, the containment was strict, and only a few businesses could work “normally”. Many other sectors, on the other hand, were not allowed to open, deemed “non-essential”. The FNA (National Federation of Automobile Crafts) is closely monitoring the Government’s announcements, as the period is not conducive to market development. For, in fact, the population of the whole territory must remain at home, except for a few well-defined exceptions.

“Essential” automotive activities, not affected by containment

The Speech of the Head of State of 28 October is clear, and direct. The whole of France must reconfine,for a minimum of four weeks, from 30 October to 1 December 2020. This is in order to limit the spread of COVID-19, which is increasing in its day-to-day presence. Many rules are back, common with that of the first containment in March. But some measures are relaxed. Some shops, closed in March, can open and operate. Others, such as some automotive activities, which were allowed to work in March, continue during this month of confinement.

Indeed, the car is thework tool of some trades, and in case of breakdown, requires repairs. Repairs that only automotive professionals can bring. Thus, the shops of automotive equipment, repair of motorcycles and cycles, gas stations … But also motor vehicle rental services and technical control centres remain open.

The automotive professionals concerned by these services remain optimistic. The dealers too. Indeed, they are also part of the open shops, and can continue to sell. In order to enable them to maintain a level of activity almost similar to that pre-containment, the Government is adapting the measures. Indeed, the implementation of the click-and-collect allows a customer to buy his car, without moving in dealership. It can then safely remove it and enjoy a service identical to that of a conventional withdrawal. An appointment made specifically, to avoid an influx of people at the same point of sale. It is a way of being able to continue to sustain certain sectors, without breaking the respect of the barrier gestures and the rules imposed by confinement.

A key sector of the national economy that “rolls”

The automotive industry represents an important part of the French economy, as does aeronautics. In the Bordeaux region, the Ford car manufacturing plant, based in Blanquefort, closes in October 2019. It was one of the symbols of the new Aquitaine car industry, which employed 850 people. The automobile also involves other types of vehicles, such as agricultural machinery, buses, and “heavy goods” vehicles. In New Aquitaine, for example, this concerns the Heuliez Bus plant, located in Mauleon. This is a company that builds many buses in circulation on France, and outside. A benchmark of the automotive sector, which should not suffer from the containment announced by the Government.

Car garage repair
During containment, car dealerships, garages or technical controls will remain open.

The sector therefore does not seem ready to stop its route, driven by support from the Government and its importance, especially for the transport professions… But also for all people who continue to use their vehicle to get to their workplace, in the absence of telework possible.

Sources:

Press release – FNA – 29 October 2020 – National and Automotive Confinement: THE FNA supports professionals and calls for the opening of sales spaces

Caradisiac – October 29, 2020 – Car purchase: Customers can be delivered in dealerships during containment

New Factory Industry – Top 14 Automotive Plants in the Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Region

More Stories
L’Arcada, the confidential Bordeaux who has everything of a great
X

Automobile courbes confinement

Automobile et confinement : on the road again…

Dernière mise à jour:

A l’instar de nombreux secteurs d’activité, le secteur automobile subit également le confinement. Seconde fois depuis le début de l’année 2020 que cela se produit. La première fois, le confinement était strict, et seuls quelques commerces pouvaient travailler “normalement”. De nombreux autres secteurs quant à eux, n’étaient pas autorisés à ouvrir, jugés “non-essentiels”. La FNA (Fédération Nationale de l’Artisanat Automobile) surveille de très près les annonces du Gouvernement, car la période n’est pas propice au développement du marché. Car, en effet, la population de l’ensemble du territoire doit rester à domicile, sauf pour quelques exceptions bien définies. 

Des activités automobiles “essentielles”, non concernées par le confinement

Le discours du Chef de l’État du 28 octobre est clair, et direct. La France toute entière doit se reconfiner, pour une durée minimale de quatre semaines, du 30 octobre au 1er décembre 2020. Cela afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, dont la présence s’amplifie de jour en jour. De nombreuses règles sont de retour, communes avec celle du premier confinement de mars. Mais certaines mesures sont assouplies. Certains commerces, fermés en mars, peuvent ouvrir et exercer leur activité. D’autres, comme certaines activités automobiles, autorisées à travailler en mars, continuent encore durant ce mois de confinement. 

En effet, la voiture est l’outil de travail de certains corps de métier, et en cas de panne, nécessite des réparations. Réparations que seuls les professionnels de l’automobile peuvent apporter. Ainsi, les commerces d’équipements automobiles, de réparation de motocycles et cycles, les stations service… Mais aussi les services de location de véhicules automobiles et les centres de contrôle technique restent ouverts. 

Les professionnels de l’automobile concernés par ces services restent donc optimistes. Les concessionnaires également. En effet, ils font eux aussi partie des commerces ouverts, et peuvent continuer à vendre. Afin de leur permettre de conserver un niveau d’activité quasi-similaire à celui d’avant le confinement, le Gouvernement adapte les mesures. En effet, la mise en place du click-and-collect permet à un client d’acheter sa voiture, sans se déplacer en concession. Il peut ensuite la retirer en toute sécurité et bénéficier d’un service identique à celui d’un retrait classique. Un rendez-vous pris spécifiquement, pour éviter un afflux de personnes sur un même point de vente. C’est une manière de pouvoir continuer à faire vivre certains secteurs, sans casser le respect des gestes barrières et des règles imposées par le confinement. 

Un secteur pilier de l’économie national qui « roule »

L’industrie automobile représente une part importante de l’économie française, au même titre que l’aéronautique. En région bordelaise, l’usine de construction automobile Ford, basée à Blanquefort, ferme en octobre 2019. Il s’agissait de l’un des symboles de la construction automobile de Nouvelle-Aquitaine qui embauchait 850 personnes. L’automobile concerne également d’autres types de véhicules, comme les engins agricoles, les bus, et les véhicules “poids lourds”. En Nouvelle-Aquitaine, cela concerne par exemple l’usine Heuliez Bus, située à Mauléon. Il s’agit d’une entreprise qui construit de nombreux bus en circulation sur la France, et en dehors. Une référence du secteur automobile, qui ne devrait pas souffrir du confinement annoncé par le Gouvernement. 

Voiture garage réparation
Pendant le confinement, les concessions automobile, les garages ou encore les contrôles techniques resteront ouverts.

Le secteur ne semble donc pas prêt à arrêter sa route, porté par un soutien du Gouvernement et par son importance, notamment pour les professions de transport… Mais aussi pour toutes les personnes qui continuent à utiliser leur véhicule pour se rendre sur leur lieu de travail, en l’absence de télétravail possible.

Sources : 

Communiqué de Presse – FNA – 29 octobre 2020 – Confinement National et Automobile : La FNA accompagne les professionnels et demande le maintien de l’ouverture des espaces de vente

Caradisiac – 29 octobre 2020 – Achat d’une auto : les clients peuvent être livrés en concession pendant le confinement

Industrie Usine Nouvelle – Top 14 des usines du secteur Automobile dans la region Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes

Plus d'articles
Bâtiment - Location
Le financement participatif, nouvelle solution pour l’investissement immobilier
X