malartic family vineyard recipes

Château de Malartic, the exceptional family vineyard

Last updated:

The Malartic-Lagravière estate is a renowned vineyard located in the New Aquitaine region of Léognan. With its history, the castle has been occupied by the Bonnie family since the late 1990s. Having revived the house and the vineyard, the family has been cultivating family traditionsfor more than 20 years. It is in a dynamic of innovation that the Bonnie family has created its own recipe book.

Nevertheless, this is not the first area to diversify its business. Indeed, many vineyards did not wait for the health crisis to diversify. Between tasting, tables and guest houses or discovery workshops, there is something for everyone! This allows winemakers to keep their heads above water, despite a climate that is not very stable both in terms of weather and in terms of health.

The Four Seasons of Malartic, a family recipe book

The Château de Malartic-Lagravière is an exceptional vineyard located in Léognan, not far from the Bordeaux conurbation. Purchased in 1997 by Michèle and Alfred Bonnie, the castle has now been in the family for 24 years. During their installation, the Bonnie family brought the castle and the vineyard back to life by restauranting and expanding. They built a new and innovative winery with exceptional technical tools. Indeed, the Malartic-Lagravière estate is not just a vineyard, it is also a family place where tradition and modernity are the watchwords.

Guided by passion and curiosity, Michèle and Alfred passed on their skills to their children and grandchildren. Thus, the new generation of the Bonnie family ensures the sustainability and destiny of the estate. The children of Michèle and Alfred, Véronique and Jean-Jacques, accompanied by their respective families, bring a new lease of life to the castle and the vineyard.

chateau vineyard malartic book recipes

In a context of health crisis and containment, the Bonnie family has created its own cookbook. The aim is to strengthen the links with their loyal customers by offering them recipes to marry with the famous Malartic wines. Entitled The Four Seasons of Malartic,the cookbook brings together culinary treasures. A mixture of Belgian, Argentinian and French traditions,the recipes aim to bring people together while making people discover. Food and wine pairings are essential for the Bonnie family, making a point of honouring the local and family tradition.

As the name suggests, the book highlights the 4 seasons. Thus, 6 recipes are proposed for each season, always accompanied by a wine from their productions. The Malartic wine book is thus in line with the values advocated by bonnie such asauthenticity, lifestyle, innovation and modernity.

Diversification of activity, vineyards on the front line

To diversify its activity as winemakers, several possibilities are available to them. Indeed, winetourism is the perfect example. Thus, wine tourism aims to discover the wine regions as well as the production of the latter. Many castles and wineries welcome tourists in search of discoveries around this ancestral know-how. Indeed, the wineries no longer have as their only activity production. These are now real tourism areas in their own right.

Wine tourism can come in many forms. Among them are visits to wine-tasting wine from the wine industry. Nevertheless, there are also other formats such as the cottage and guest house. Eager to discover castle life, in a peaceful environment filled with history, tourists were already more than 10 million in 2016. The health crisis of the Covid-19 has thus affected the sector because tourists are both French and foreign. Indeed, foreigners accounted for more than 42% of tourists. The winemakers had to think about other alternatives in order to make up for this lack. So the Bonnie family did just that by publishing their own cookbook around the Malartic estate. A new way to keep traditions and know-how alive in a society where everything is moving at a high speed.

Sources:

Château Malartic-Lagravière, press kit February 2021

Summary of key figures for wine tourism,Wine and Society, June 25, 2019

More Stories
vinted and millennials consuming clothing
Vinted and the millennials, an attraction for the second hand
X

malartic vignoble familial recettes

Château de Malartic, le vignoble familial d’exception

Dernière mise à jour:

Le domaine de Malartic-Lagravière est un vignoble de renom situé dans la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine à Léognan. Fort de son histoire, le château est désormais occupé par la famille Bonnie depuis la fin des années 1990. Ayant redonné vie à la demeure et au vignoble, la famille cultive depuis plus de 20 ans des traditions familiales. C’est dans une dynamique d’innovation que la famille Bonnie a ainsi créé son propre ouvrage de recettes.

Néanmoins, ce n’est pas le premier domaine à diversifier son activité. En effet, de nombreux vignobles n’ont pas attendu la crise sanitaire pour se diversifier. Entre dégustation, tables et maisons d’hôtes ou encore ateliers découverte, il y en a pour tous les goûts ! Cela permet aux vignerons de garder la tête hors de l’eau, malgré un climat peu stable tant sur le plan météorologique que sur le plan sanitaire.

Les Quatre Saisons de Malartic, un livre de recette familial

Le Château de Malartic-Lagravière est un vignoble d’exception situé à Léognan, non loin de l’agglomération bordelaise. Racheté en 1997 par Michèle et Alfred Bonnie, le château est désormais dans la famille depuis 24 ans. Lors de leur installation, la famille Bonnie a ainsi redonné vie au château et au vignoble en restaurant et en agrandissant. Ils y construirent un nouveau chais novateur et doté d’outils techniques d’exceptions. En effet, le domaine de Malartic-Lagravière n’est pas un simple vignoble, il est aussi un lieu familial où la tradition et la modernité sont les maîtres-mots.

Guidés par la passion et la curiosité, Michèle et Alfred ont transmis leur savoir-faire à leurs enfants et petits-enfants. Ainsi, la nouvelle génération de la famille Bonnie assure la pérennité et la destinée du domaine. Les enfants de Michèle et Alfred, Véronique et Jean-Jacques, accompagnés de leur famille respective, permettent d’apporter un nouveau souffle au château et au vignoble

chateau vignoble malartic livre recettes

Dans un contexte de crise sanitaire et de confinement, la famille Bonnie a ainsi créé son propre livre de recettes. Le but étant de renforcer les liens avec leurs fidèles clients en leur proposant des recettes à marier avec les célèbres vins de Malartic. Intitulé Les Quatres Saisons de Malartic, le livre de recettes rassemble des trésors culinaires. Mélange de traditions à la fois belges, argentines et françaises, les recettes ont pour vocation de rassembler tout en faisant découvrir. Les accords mets et vins sont essentiels pour la famille Bonnie, mettant un point d’honneur à la tradition locale et familiale.

Comme son nom l’indique, l’ouvrage met en avant les 4 saisons. Ainsi, 6 recettes sont proposées pour chaque saison, toujours accompagnées d’un vin issu de leurs productions. Le livre de recettes du domaine Malartic est ainsi en accord avec les valeurs prônées par les Bonnie telles que l’authenticité, l’art de vivre, l’innovation et la modernité.

Diversification de l’activité, les vignobles en première ligne

Pour diversifier son activité en tant que vignerons, plusieurs possibilités s’offrent à eux. En effet, l’oenotourisme en est le parfait exemple. Ainsi, l’oenotourisme a pour vocation de découvrir les régions viticoles ainsi que la production de ces dernières. De nombreux châteaux et domaines viticoles accueillent ainsi les touristes en quête de découvertes autour de ce savoir-faire ancestral. En effet, les domaines viticoles n’ont donc plus comme seule activité la production. Ce sont désormais de réels domaines touristiques à part entière. 

L’oenotourisme peut se décliner sous plusieurs formes. Parmi elles, on pense notamment aux visites de domaines avec dégustation de vins de la production. Néanmoins, il y a également d’autres formats tels que le gîte et maison d’hôte. Désireux de découvrir la vie de château, dans un environnement paisible et empli d’histoire, les touristes étaient déjà plus de 10 millions en 2016. La crise sanitaire de la Covid-19 a ainsi touché le secteur car les touristes sont aussi bien français qu’étrangers. En effet, les étrangers représentaient plus de 42% des touristes. Les vignerons ont ainsi dû réfléchir à d’autres alternatives afin de compenser ce manque. C’est donc ce qu’a réalisé la famille Bonnie en publiant son propre livre de recettes autour du domaine de Malartic. Une nouvelle façon de faire perdurer les traditions et savoir-faire, dans une société où tout bouge à une grande vitesse.

Sources : 

Château Malartic-Lagravière, dossier de presse février 2021

Synthèse des chiffres clés de l’oenotourisme, Vin & Société, 25 juin 2019

Plus d'articles
coworking bureaux entreprise location
Investir dans le coworking
X