quays of the bordeaux-like garonne river brands

L’Edito Business

Ignoring the gloom

The situation is serious. No one is used to edrich. Everything reminds you… Health, of course, but also the economy, uncertainties, systemic fragilities, business closures that cannot be avoided… Certainly, there are supports, devices to implement, steps, again and again, while waiting for the wave to pass…

Many business leaders, both in their personal and professional lives, have experienced ups and downs. Resilience is a hallmark of entrepreneurship. The current waves still look more like an inevitable rise in water than an ephemeral storm.

One could say that humanity will pull itself together and embark on a great movement of solidarity, of solving problems… Let us leave to politics what is to politics, and let us not forget the lessons of history.

Lighthouse Glow Watercolor Aurora

On our scale, however, without being utopian, can we “do”? Recently, I rediscovered “Mon Oncle d’Amérique” by Alain Resnais, with Gérard Depardieu in particular. A film that seemed to me particularly adapted to the current atmosphere.

Admittedly, the issues may seem somewhat outdated in view of the evolution of the meaning of work in society… But are they really…

The only reason for being of a being is to be, that is, to maintain its structure.

Henri Laborit – Eloge de la fuite, 1976.

Without unnecessary struggle, without violence, the only survival strategy lies in action. An action that can take the form of a declaration of boldness, just like in the decision to maintain what is possible to maintain. The action can thus be immobile; “to stay” is already an act of entrepreneurial commitment in itself.

Beyond that, gently move the lines… Local initiatives, transversal business solidarity, common fund for “hard knocks” between business leaders in the same sector of activity or the same geographical sector…

What if the great lesson of confinement, to stand, was to relearn how to hold with others? Without hindering the freedom of enterprise or the healthy game of competition, let us remember, to “hold”, that business, the economy, is above all an ecosystem, whose links it is up to us to rediscover.

Leisure and Agitations

The lights shine too brightly in entrepreneurial seas. There are reassuring lights, end-of-year celebrations (as well as the glow of spring), festivities to come, which make it possible to guide the ships while reassuring their occupants. There are also lights that are only mirrors to larks. The Captain is the one who can feel these nuances.

A brief tour of the economy is a roller coaster. Full successes are in the face of unsurred disasters. The emotion, the craze of the young shoots collide with the fogs of old forts.

The wind beats the sails, the sea is agitated, the swell is stunning when the sirens sound louder and louder. Melodious song or warning of a Charybdis in Scylla now inevitable? The storm is alternately scathing, howling, and gentle. No one knows to this day whether the turmoil has come gradually. One thing is certain, the proud ships are tagging. Other boats, sometimes reeds, seem to overcome the waves.

Lightness seems to be the key word, as well as a structure designed to resist, adapt, without betraying itself.

“Panem et circenses”. Every day, the company’s shipyards start new ships, some more robust, others innovative, others still break out of traditional divisions. Well inspired one who could predict which model will overcome the storm.

What else about the role of the current upheavals? A necessary, even welcome, purge of a normal economic cycle? Or again, this time, an “otherwise”, an “other thing” of which we do not yet prefigure all the upheavals …

Printing, Electricity, Internet… Is the digital wave now, at the heart of business, a deep sociological beginning, of a world neither better nor worse, but different?

Bordeaux stands as a symbol, a beacon that crystallizes expectations while reproducing the existing divisions. Could it be that, tearing the veil, the historical stones reveal a whisper, an ability to resist the tsunami while affirming their identity…

Ecstatic excipit to come.

Start-up Mouvement City Bordeaux

“Start me up”

The choice of entrepreneurship is never a coincidence. There are noises, movements, guides, springboards… One might be tempted to pour into the same Pandora’s box the disillusionment of the salaried workforce, the difficulties in finding a first job, the delicate reconversions, with this implicit answer, almost tinged with holy grail:

“Become a Business Leader”.

The economy, the public authorities, the hopes of youth… Everything tends to this new freedom, to ignore the paths traced to trace one’s own path, to be accompanied at each stage, to become innovative, to have the idea that will change (his) life.
There is no shortage of attractions.


This somewhat disillusioned point of view will not make you smile or react too much. It must not, however, mask the individual and collective dynamics that underlie the discourses of the well-thinking. Tomorrow, all entrepreneurs?

To stick to the surface, to have easy criticism, certainly, is to forget the sleeves raised, the questioning, the hours never counted, the doubts, the emulations created, the efforts freely made, the time, the failures, the trials, the perseverance, the result. The economy is swirling, the cards are being reshuffled. The Bordeaux entrepreneur is not a marketing stunt, it is not a symbol, it is not a soufflé as soon as it is lifted as soon as it has fallen.

The start-up is now a movement that is reborn from its ashes, and replays in its own way the internet bubble of the 2000s. Except that it is no longer based solely on a technological evolution with a strong capitalistic aim (blockchain, AI, machine learning …). Indeed, what moves the entrepreneur, the new start-up, today is a slow, profound sociological change, the effects of which are not yet fully measured. The mutation is underway, sometimes a little
draft, it is structured, organized, energized.

A response to the expected flexibility, to the breaking of the boundaries between private and professional life, a reality in the face of the possibilities offered by the digital economy and digital tools.

A new business is born, one that sees the realization of potentials blossom beyond ambitions.

Spring Bordeaux vines Bordeaux

Bordeaux Spring

2018 was a pivotal year for the Bordeaux business. New territorial impulse continues, business boom off the beaten track, consolidation of the start-up ecosystem, international opening, explosion of the housing bubble…

The urban landscape is changing, with great work, the pendulum movements of the workers take place, the flow of students does not slow down, according to the new schools that are deployed throughout the city …

The city is changing, of course, this is visible, just as, already, a new balance is being put in place, a new rhythm, a “Paris Plage” in Bordeaux where it is good to live, stroll, (re)discover the quays, the stalls, the shops that are enbourge.

The Bordeaux people want the beau, the neat, the stars in the eyes, the cocoons in their home… Bordeaux has in it this quiet, Haussmannian strength that encourages serenity when everything accelerates. With both feet on the ground, it grows, stretches, not forgetting to consolidate its pillars. The reassuring stone has these same reflections as the rising sun on the Arcachon Basin: every day, always present, always different, and “which is, each time, neither quite the same. Not quite another one” …

2019 promises to be the year of renewal, of all possibilities, but also of the perpetuation of business models, beyond a digital transformation, which tests our limits as well as our ability to adapt, our faculties of resistance.

Will Bordeaux succeed in “taking its place”, or will the energies deployed have had the only impact of catching up with the other major French cities?

More than ever, it is a question of giving meaning to the business, beyond the divisions of the Parallel of the Ancients or Models, to lead the way, while consolidating the path.

Without hiding the face on the reality of the French entrepreneurial fabric: in 2019, it passes, or it breaks … In any case, we will continue to admire the bridges of the Garonne every day…

Place Porte Bordeaux Pavés

Commitment and perseverance

The arrival of sunny days is often the sign of a boost in the morale of the entrepreneur…

Another journey… Movements of the LGV, tourists, holidays… The puzzle of the summer organization must be far behind, the company is operating at a slow pace. Conversely, the influx of tourists, for the companies that are involved in the heart of this economy, is the long-awaited sign of a cash flow that is re-inflated, of an activity “in surge” that pleases the accountant.

In either case, the summer period is an opportunity for a mid-term review for this year 2018, or even closing for companies that take advantage of this period to finalize a mid-year exercise.

A moment apart, between catching your breath and breathing fresh air, a salutary “cut” for business leaders who can…, a moment that allows you to refocus on the heart of your activity, on your vision, on what motivates them on a daily basis… Capitalize on your own commitment.

The great industrial successes are far behind, the “genius ideas” rarely have their place in a global competitive environment, the liberalization of the economy struggles to promise niche markets, or closed … This is both a great opportunity, a democratization of access to entrepreneurship, and at the same time, the curse of success, where the traditional performance levers have little, if any, impact.

Giving to receive is above all today never to fail, and to believe in oneself. Admittedly, we must not be stubborn if the situation is objectively critical, however, conventional indicators have little control over the upheaval of business models. Digitalization, customer volatility, and even ferocity of some interlocutors… the current sociological and economic transformation makes coexist on the same temporal level the immediacy of exchanges, the emergencies of the moment, the economic imperatives of everyday life, with a necessary and salutary long-term vision, beyond the turmoil…
The rules have changed, but they are not yet rebuilt. To (re)build a healthy and sustainable entrepreneurial ecosystem, to undergo, to readapt permanently, is not really the key. On the other hand,performance is analyzed in a perseverance of every moment: you alone carry your company, and, beyond “luck”, it is your values that will guide you to success.

“Is entrepreneurship a powerful narcotic?

The renewals of business models never cease to surprise. Developing and capturing customers has become a real headache. The rules have not changed so much, they are as sprayed. For today’s Entrepreneur, for the Entrepreneur of Tomorrow, everything has to be relearned.

Adapting, rehabilitating quickly seems to be the key. However, between innovation not completed or too far ahead of its market, poorly controlled digital transformation or lack of anticipation of the difficulties of launching a new product or service, the entrepreneur is under increasing pressure, on a daily basis, with each act of management.

In response, it may be biased to retreat into safe and undplintered markets, or to consolidate its growth through purchases of direct or indirect competitors. Reviving a business strategy with prospects whose buying habits have completely changed seems very utopian, as the road is long to understand and reappropriate the vectors of decision.

However, the dynamics of Bordeaux reveal to us every day these entrepreneurs, men, women, who, beyond the desired success, undertake by conviction as much as by passion. The certainty, in the construction of the company, that each step, obstacle, allows only to improve, to better understand this new economic environment, the certainty finally that its entrepreneurial stone will change a little, in its own way, a piece of this world …

For what are these few drops of sweat or those night vigils in front of the few words of thanks of a satisfied customer, in front of the vision of a team that every day works by your side to move the company forward, in the face of the adrenaline of the signed contract!

Make no mistake. The narcotic and equally “adrenalined” effect of entrepreneurship has only one goal: to push us to go beyond our limits, to climb the stages relentlessly, to finally carry at arm’s length these companies which, more than a professional project, are a real self-realization.

path thrown sea aurora

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

quais des marques bordeaux garonne fleuve

L’Edito Business, par Alexandra ZWANG SIARNOWSKI

Faire fi de la morosité

La situation est grave. Nul ne sert de faire l’autruche. Tout vous le rappelle… La santé, évidemment, mais également l’économie, les incertitudes, les fragilités systémiques, les fermetures d’entreprise que l’on ne pourra éviter… Certes, il y a des soutiens, des dispositifs à mettre en œuvre, des démarches, encore et encore, en attendant que la vague passe… 

De nombreux chefs d’entreprise, dans leur vie personnelle comme dans leur vie professionnelle, ont connu des hauts et des bas. La capacité de résilience est un trait caractéristique de l’entrepreneuriat. Les vagues actuelles ressemblent tout de même plus à une montée des eaux inéluctables, qu’à une tempête éphémère.

L’on pourrait se dire que l’humanité va se ressaisir et se lancer dans un grand mouvement de solidarité, de résolution des problématiques… Laissons à la politique ce qui est à la politique, et n’oublions pas les leçons de l’histoire.

Phare Lueur Aquarelle Aurore

A notre échelle cependant, sans être utopique, peut -on “faire” ?  Récemment, je redécouvrais “Mon Oncle d’Amérique” d’Alain Resnais, avec notamment Gérard Depardieu. Un film qui m’a semblé particulièrement adapté à l’ambiance actuelle.

Certes, les problématiques peuvent sembler quelque peu désuètes au regard de l’évolution du sens du travail dans la société… Mais le sont-elles vraiment…

La seule raison d’être d’un être, c’est d’être, c’est-à-dire de maintenir sa structure.

Henri Laborit – Eloge de la fuite, 1976.

Sans se débattre inutilement, sans violence, la seule stratégie de survie réside dans l’action. Une action qui peut prendre la forme d’une déclaration d’audace, tout comme dans la décision de maintenir ce qu’il est possible de maintenir. L’action peut ainsi être immobile ; “to stay” est déjà un acte d’engagement entrepreneurial en soi.

Au-delà, faire doucement bouger les lignes… Initiatives locales, solidarité transverses des business, fonds commun pour “les coups durs” entre chefs d’entreprise du même secteur d’activité ou du même secteur géographique…

Et si la grande leçon du confinement, pour tenir debout, était de réapprendre à tenir avec les autres ? Sans entraver la liberté d’entreprendre ou le sain jeu de la concurrence, rappelons-nous, pour “tenir”, que le business, l’économie, est avant tout un écosystème, dont il nous appartient de redécouvrir les liens.

Loisirs et Agitations

Les lumières brillent par trop, dans les mers entrepreneuriales. Il est des lumières rassurantes, des fêtes de fin d’année (tout autant que des lueurs du printemps), des réjouissances à venir, qui permettent de guider les navires tout en rassurant leurs occupants. Il est également des lumières qui ne sont que miroirs aux alouettes. Le Capitaine est celui qui peut ressentir ces nuances.

Un bref tour de l’économie affiche des montagnes russes. De pleines réussites font face aux catastrophes non envisagées. L’émotion, l’engouement des jeunes pousses se heurtent aux brouillards d’anciens forts.

Le vent bat les voiles, la mer s’agite, la houle se veut renversante quand les sirènes retentissent de plus en plus fort. Chant mélodieux ou avertissement d’un Charybde en Scylla désormais inévitable ? La tempête est tour à tour cinglante, hurlante, et douce. Nul ne sait à ce jour si les remous sont venus peu à peu. Une chose est certaine, les fiers navires tanguent. D’autres embarcations, parfois de roseaux, semblent surmonter les vagues.

La légèreté semble être le maître-mot, ainsi qu’une structure conçue pour résister, s’adapter, sans se trahir.

« Panem et circenses ». Chaque jour, les chantiers navals de l’entreprise amorcent de nouveaux navires, certains plus robustes, d’autres innovants, d’autres encore sortent des clivages traditionnels. Bien inspiré celui qui pourrait prédire quel modèle surmontera la tempête.

Quid encore du rôle des bouleversements actuels ? Une purge nécessaire, voire bienvenue, un cycle économique habituel ? Ou bien encore, cette fois-ci , un « autrement », un « autre chose » dont on ne préfigure pas encore tous les bouleversements…

Imprimerie, Electricité, Internet… La vague digitale est-elle désormais, au cœur des business, une amorce sociologique profonde, d’un monde ni meilleur, ni pire, mais différent ?

Bordeaux trône comme un symbole, un phare qui cristallise les attentes tout en reproduisant les clivages existants. Se pourrait-il que, déchirant le voile, les pierres historiques ne révèlent un murmure, une capacité à résister au tsunami tout en affirmant leur identité…

Excipit extatique à venir.

Start up Mouvement City Bordeaux

« Start me up »

Le choix de entrepreneuriat n’est jamais un hasard. Il y a des bruits, des mouvances, des guides, des tremplins… On pourrait être tenté de verser dans la même boîte de Pandore les désillusions du salariat, les difficultés à trouver un premier poste, les reconversions délicates, avec cette réponse en filigrane, presque teintée de Saint-Graal :

« Devenez Chef d’entreprise ».

L’économie, les pouvoirs publics, les espoirs jeunesse… Tout tend à cette nouvelle liberté, faire fi des chemins tracés pour tracer son propre chemin, être accompagné à chaque étape, devenir innovant, avoir l’idée qui changera la (sa) vie.
Les attraits ne manquent pas.


Ce point de vue quelque peu désabusé ne fera pas sourire, ni réagir outre mesure. Il ne doit pas pour autant masquer les dynamiques individuelles et collectives qui sous-tendent les discours des biens-pensants. Demain, tous entrepreneurs ?

S’en tenir à la surface, avoir la critique facile, certes, c’est oublier les manches relevées, les remises en question, les heures jamais comptées, les doutes, les émulations créées, les efforts librement consentis, le temps, les échecs, les essais, la persévérance, le résultat. L’économie tourbillonne, les cartes se redistribuent. L’entrepreneur(e) bordelais(e) n’est pas un coup marketing, ce n’est pas un symbole, ce n’est pas un soufflé sitôt levé sitôt retombé.

La start-up est désormais une mouvance qui renaît de ses cendres, et rejoue à sa façon la bulle internet des années 2000. A ceci près qu’elle ne repose plus seulement sur une évolution technologique à forte visée capitalistique (blockchain, IA, machine learning…). En effet, ce qui meut aujourd’hui l’entrepreneur, la nouvelle start-up, c’est une mutation sociologique lente, profonde, dont on ne mesure pas encore pleinement les effets. La mutation est en marche, parfois un peu
brouillon, elle se structure, s’organise, se dynamise.

Une réponse à la flexibilité attendue, à l’éclatement des frontières entre la vie privée et la vie professionnelle, une réalité face aux possibilités offertes par l’économie numérique et les outils du Digital.

Un nouveau business est né, celui qui voit éclore, au-delà des ambitions, la réalisation des potentiels.

Printemps bordelais vignes Bordeaux

Le Printemps bordelais

L’année 2018 a été une année charnière pour le business bordelais. Nouvelle impulsion territoriale continue, essor de business sortant des sentiers battus, consolidation de l’écosystème start-up, ouverture vers l’international, explosion de la bulle immobilière…

Le paysage urbain se transforme, à grand coup de travaux, les mouvements pendulaires des travailleurs prennent place, le flot d’étudiants ne ralentit pas, au gré des nouveaux écoles qui se déploient dans toute la ville…

La ville change, certes, cela est visible, tout autant que, d’ores et déjà, un nouvel équilibre se met en place, un nouveau rythme, un “Paris Plage” à la bordelaise où il fait bon vivre, flâner, (re)découvrir les quais, les échoppes, les commerces qui s’embourgeoisent.

Les Bordelais veulent du Beau, du soigné, des étoiles dans les yeux, des cocoons dans leur foyer… Bordeaux a en elle cette force tranquille, haussmannienne, qui incite à la sérénité quand tout s’accélère. Les deux pieds sur terre, elle croît, s’étend tant bien que mal, sans oublier de consolider ses piliers. La pierre rassurante a ces mêmes reflets que le soleil levant sur le Bassin d’Arcachon : chaque jour, toujours présent, toujours différent, et “qui n’est, chaque fois, ni tout à fait la même. Ni tout à fait une autre”…

2019 s’annonce comme l’année du renouveau, de tous les possibles, mais également de la pérennisation des business models, au-delà d’une transformation digitale., qui teste nos limites tout autant que notre capacité d’adaptation, nos facultés de résistance.

Bordeaux va-t’elle réussir à “prendre sa place”, ou bien les énergies déployées n’auront-elles eu pour seul impact que de rattraper le retard des autres grands agglomérations françaises ?

Plus que jamais, il s’agit de donner du sens au business, au-delà des clivages du Parallèle des Anciens ou des Modèles, ouvrir la voie, tout en consolidant le chemin.

Sans se voiler la face sur la réalité du tissu entrepreneurial français : en 2019, ça passe, ou ça casse… quoi qu’il en soit, nous continuerons d’admirer chaque jour les ponts de la Garonne…

Place Porte Bordeaux Pavés

Engagement et persévérance

L’arrivée des beaux jours est souvent le signe d’un boost au moral de l’entrepreneur…

Un autre trajet… Mouvements de la LGV, des touristes, des congés… Le casse-tête de l’organisation estivale doit être loin derrière, l’entreprise fonctionne au ralenti. A l’inverse,  l’afflux touristique, pour les entreprises qui sont impliquées au coeur de cette économie, est le signe tant attendu d’une trésorerie qui se regonfle, d’une activité “en surtension” qui fait plaisir à l’expert-comptable.

Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, la période estivale est l’occasion d’un bilan de mi-parcours pour cette année 2018, voire de clôture pour les entreprises qui profitent de cette période pour finaliser un exercice de milieu d’année.

Un moment à part, entre reprise de souffle et bouffée d’oxygène, “coupure” salutaire pour les chefs d’entreprise qui le peuvent…, un moment qui permet de se recentrer sur le coeur de son activité, sur sa vision, sur ce qui motive au quotidien… Capitaliser sur son propre engagement.

Les grands réussites industrielles sont loin derrière, les “idées de génie” ont rarement leur place dans un environnement concurrentiel mondial, la libéralisation de l’économie peine à promettre des marchés de niche, ou fermés… C’est à la fois une grande chance, une démocratisation de l’accès à l’entrepreneuriat, et dans le même temps, la malédiction de la réussite, là où les traditionnels leviers de performance n’ont que peu, voire plus, d’impact. 

Donner pour recevoir, c’est surtout aujourd’hui ne jamais faillir, et croire en soi. Certes, il ne faut pas s’entêter si la situation est objectivement critique, cependant, les indicateurs classiques ont peu de prise sur le bouleversement des business models. Digitalisation, volatilité de la clientèle, et même férocité de certains interlocuteurs… la transformation sociologique et économique actuelle fait coexister sur le même plan temporel l’instantanéité des échanges, les urgences de l’instant, les impératifs économique du quotidien, avec une nécessaire et salutaire vision à long terme, au-delà des remous… 
Les règles ont changé, certes, mais elles ne sont pas encore reconstruites. Pour (re)bâtir un écosystème entrepreneurial sain et pérenne, subir, se réadapter en permanence, n’est pas réellement la clé. A contrario, la performance s’analyse en une persévérance de chaque instant :  vous seul(e) portez votre entreprise, et, au-delà de la “chance”, ce sont vos valeurs qui vous guideront vers la réussite.

« L’entrepreneuriat est-il un puissant narcotique ?

Les renouveaux des business models n’ont de cesse de surprendre. Développer, capter sa clientèle est devenue un véritable casse-tête. Les règles n’ont pas tant changé, elles sont comme pulvérisées. Pour le Chef d’entreprise d’aujourd’hui, pour l’Entrepreneur de demain, tout est à réapprendre.

S’adapter, se réadapter rapidement semble être la clé. Cependant, entre innovation non aboutie ou trop en avance sur son marché, transformation digitale mal maîtrisée ou encore manque d’anticipation des difficultés de lancement d’un nouveau produit ou service, l’entrepreneur est soumis à une pression toujours plus accrue, au quotidien, à chaque acte de gestion.

En réaction, il peut être de parti pris de se replier sur des marchés sûrs et peu éclatés, ou bien de consolider sa croissance par des opérations d’achats de concurrents directs ou indirects. Relancer une stratégie commerciale auprès de prospects dont les habitudes d’achats ont complètement changé paraît bien utopique, tant le chemin est long pour comprendre et se réapproprier les vecteurs de décision.

Pour autant, la dynamique bordelaise nous révèle chaque jour ces entrepreneurs, hommes, femmes, qui, au-delà de la réussite souhaitée, entreprennent par conviction autant que par passion. La certitude, dans la construction de l’entreprise, que chaque étape, obstacle, ne permet que de s’améliorer, de mieux appréhender ce nouvel environnement économique, la certitude enfin que sa pierre entrepreneuriale changera un peu, à sa façon, une parcelle de ce monde…

Car qu’est-ce que ces quelques gouttes de sueur ou ces veillées nocturnes face aux quelques mots de remerciements d’un client satisfait, face à la vision d’une équipe qui chaque jour travaille à vos côtés pour faire avancer l’entreprise, face à l’adrénaline du contrat signé !

Ne vous y trompez pas. L’effet narcotique et tout autant « adrénaliné » de l’entrepreneuriat n’a qu’un seul but : nous pousser à dépasser nos limites, à gravir les étapes sans relâchement, à porter à bout de bras enfin ces entreprises qui, plus qu’un projet professionnel, sont une réelle réalisation de soi.

chemin jetée mer aurore

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X