“Remote speaking or how to break the screen”, Interview by Charlie Clarck, co-founder of Whistcom

Remote speaking is an exercise that everyone must undergo during their professional life. However, few can claim to master the codes to break the screen or bypass the phone filter. Also, more and more managers and managers are taking the time to train themselves to speak. In public or remotely, the approach differs to adapt to the context but the expectations are the same. Capturing the attention of the audience, getting the messages they want, creating a link with your audience. With the health crisis forcing telework, remote meetings are multiplying. As a result, more and more managers feel cut off from their teams and are experiencing the demotivation of their troops. To better understand the challenges of speaking at a distance, BORDEAUX Business spoke with Charlie Clarck, co-founder of Whistcom.

First of all, what is Whistcom’s business?

Whistcom is an oral strategy firm. He accompanies the leaders, the leaders of tomorrow, the companies in communication technology for all oral situations. Individual interview, telephone call, team meeting, press conference, videoconference… Whatever the format, every speech is intended to convince. Bent to this exercise, everyone seeks to be seen, heard, understood. This is the challenge of speaking out,whether it’s remote in public.

To train these speakers, we offer At Whistcom a toolkit for speaking and have a training center at Les Invalides. There is a theatre, a TV set, a videoconferencing room, a meeting room… All this to adapt to each situation and context of public intervention. We then transmit a simple, structuring method and above all usable on a daily basis in the company. At the exit, everyone will have discovered and really realized that the body is an indispensable tool in speaking, as much as silences… All of this meets rules other than writing. We have to try to be more boarding. We are therefore taught how to get teams on board, both in public and remotely.

charlie clarck founder whistcom took distance speech
Charlie CLARCK, founder of Whistcom, oral strategy agency

What kind of profiles, situations is coaching in speaking?

For coaching in speech, there are two cases of figures. Either the applicant has an event to prepare. In this case, one helps on the merits with the development of oral strategy; and form to master speaking. That is, and this is often the second option, Whistcom is called upon for continuing education.

For good reason, managers and managers often know how to do many things but they never really learn to speak. In concrete terms, we note that in French culture, we have an educational system that values the written word much more. Oral is the prerogative of talent and intuition. However, the most important situations to value his work, sell his ideas, embark his teams, it is almost all the time of the oral. They therefore need to master the art of public speaking, including remotely.

How is Whistcom’s activity with the Covid-19?

We’re pretty lucky, we haven’t had any slowdowns on the contrary. In reality, the first containment stopped us completely at first. But since June, there has been a strong demand for better dialogue with employees.

The requested formats, on the other hand, have changed. Now there are two ways to train to speak. Either always physically at The Invalides, or via our remote route “crack the screen”, specific to video conferencing and remote speaking.

videoconference company speak from a distance
Speak remotely via videoconferences to maintain the link between managers and teams

Today, teams need to trade more remotely, including with us. So on form, we have a lot more training Zoom and Teams. In substance, there is also a significant change. Before the leaders wanted to convince, now they want dialogue. We tend to say that we go from “better saying” to “better exchange”.

In short, it makes perfect sense. Companies are now dealing with broken employees, who lose contact with each other. In this context, managers need to create binders. This requires motivating managers.

Specific requests at a time when there is a greater need for remote speaking?

At Wistcom, there has been a marked increase in demand for our “Crever the Screen” training course. This is our 100% distance route. It is suitable for all types of employees. However, at the moment, the demand comes less from managers and more from managers. Which are mainly looking to learn how to lead teams from a distance. There are also demands to train salespeople,who now have to sell their products remotely. This training in remote speaking allows even in videoconferencing to recreate a form of humanity in the exchange.

In addition to the traditional rules of public speaking, there are also tools to warm up the conversation. We pass on the tips on how to use the coprs, the gestures, the looks. How to structure words for video conferencing in particular. It is a very specific offer related to the situation we are experiencing at the moment. It is also valid for remote events and virtual events.

In fact, we can see this when we look at the curve of our business. In September, there was a bit of a slump because people were expecting to return to life before. Then it came back to the realization that the situation would not change right away. We had this effect again in January when, for want of a decision, the managers and managers remained waiting. Then, in the last few weeks, we are witnessing an upsurge in these courses because everyone realizes that we will continue for at least another year like this.

How is it different to speak from a distance to take it at an event or physical meeting?

The two types of speech are not much different. In reality, what is different is that you have a camera. Otherwise, the toolbox is much the same. But the use will be different to fit the camera.

speaking distance screen image camera
Mastering your image, posture and voice during a distance speech

In practical terms, we start from the basic premise that we do not speak for ourselves but that we speak for the person opposite. The central question is simple: what does the person opposite mean? What does it hold back? That’s also true in video. Except in this case, we have a new vector: the camera, the screen. Therefore, the question must be added: what relationship should I have with the camera and the screen? In fact, this implies real change.

In video, your interlocutor is no longer the person, it is the camera. Except, most of the time, the employees turn it off. We don’t know how to handle this relationship on camera. Our own image is often uncomfortable to us, it disturbs us.

What tips can you share with us to make a good distance speaking?

In a remote speech as in public, one must always control one’s image. But in the context of remote speaking, it is always more delicate. You have to manage your position in relation to the camera, master the lights, the sound…

Once the image is mastered, you have to master the sound: the voice, the rhythm, the volume… And always keep in mind that silences are important. This is the basic rule that Whistcom. In fact, we are first and foremost an agency to learn to be silent. In video, restoring silence also means restoring comfort in the conversation. It’s going over technical problems. It is taking the time to talk, to exchange, to understand.

Inevitably, video conferencing has its drawbacks. It’s a more volatile, less engaging format. Thus, you never really know what your interlocutor is doing while you are talking to them. That’s why we have to master the words, the story we tell. The shape of the story is changed to make it catchy in videoconference. Often this means starting on a shorter format, more spoken sentences, a more direct style.

The observation is that when leaders speak out, it is often indirect. They talk to employees but they talk about third-person collaborators. This choice automatically creates distance.

Concretely, for a remote speech, as in public, it is necessary to respect the 3 V of the speech: visual, vocal, verbal. To be good in video is to align these three dimensions but adapting to different tools.

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

prise de parole à distance management equipe entreprise covid-19

“Prise de parole à distance ou comment crever l’écran”, Interview de Charlie Clarck, co-fondateur de Whistcom

Dernière mise à jour:

La prise de parole à distance est un exercice auquel chacun doit se soumettre au cours de sa vie professionnelle. Pourtant, peu peuvent se targuer de maîtriser les codes pour crever l’écran ou passer outre le filtre du téléphone. Aussi, de plus en plus de dirigeants et managers prennent le temps de se former à la prise de parole. En public ou à distance, l’approche diffère pour s’adapter au contexte mais les attentes sont les mêmes. Capter l’attention de son public, faire passer les messages souhaités, créer du lien avec son audience. Avec la crise sanitaire imposant le télétravail, les réunions à distance se multiplient. Ainsi, de plus en plus de managers se sentent coupés de leurs équipes et vivent la démotivation de leurs troupes. Pour mieux comprendre les enjeux d’une bonne prise de parole à distance, BORDEAUX Business s’est entretenu avec Charlie Clarck, cofondateur de Whistcom.

Avant toute chose, quelle est l’activité de Whistcom ?

Whistcom est un cabinet en stratégie orale. Il accompagne les dirigeants, les leaders de demain, les entreprises en technique de communication pour toutes les situations orales. Entretien individuel, appel téléphonique, réunion d’équipe, conférence de presse, visioconférence… Quel que soit le format, chaque prise de parole vise à convaincre. Se pliant à cet exercice, chacun cherche à être vu, entendu, compris. C’est là tout le challenge de la prise de parole, que ce soit à distance en en public.

Pour former ces orateurs, nous proposons chez Whistcom une boîte à outils de la prise de parole et disposons d’un centre d’entraînement aux Invalides. On y trouve un théâtre, un plateau télé, une salle de visioconférence, une salle de réunion… Le tout donc pour s’adapter à chaque situation et contexte d’intervention en public. Nous transmettons alors une méthode simple, structurante et surtout utilisable au quotidien dans l’entreprise. A la sortie, chacun aura découvert et réellement pris conscience que le corps est un outil indispensable dans la prise de parole, autant que les silences… Tout cela répond à d’autres règles que l’écrit. Il faut chercher à être plus embarquant. On enseigne donc comment embarquer les équipes, aussi bien lors de prises de parole en public qu’à distance.

charlie clarck fondateur whistcom prise parole distance
Charlie CLARCK, confondateur de Whistcom, agence de stratégie orale

A quel genre de profils, de situations le coaching en prise de parole s’adresse-t-il ?

Pour le coaching en prise de parole, on retrouve deux cas de figures. Soit le demandeur a un événement à préparer. Dans ce cas, on aide sur le fond avec le développement de la stratégie orale ; et sur la forme pour maîtriser la prise de parole. Soit, et c’est souvent cette seconde option, on fait appel à Whistcom pour de la formation continue.

Pour cause, les dirigeants et managers savent souvent faire beaucoup de choses mais ils n’ont jamais vraiment appris à prendre la parole. Concrètement, on fait le constat que dans la culture française, on a un système éducatif qui valorise beaucoup plus l’écrit. L’oral, c’est l’apanage du talent et de l’intuition. Pourtant, les situations les plus importantes pour valoriser son travail, vendre ses idées, embarquer ses équipes, c’est quasiment tout le temps de l’oral. Ils ont donc besoin de maîtriser l’art de la prise de parole en public, y compris à distance.

Comment se porte l’activité de Whistcom avec le Covid-19 ?

On est assez chanceux, on n’a pas eu de ralentissements au contraire. En réalité, le premier confinement nous a complètement arrêté dans un premier temps. Mais, depuis juin, il y a une forte demande pour mieux dialoguer avec les collaborateurs.

Les formats demandés, en revanche, ont changé. Désormais, on propose deux façons de former à prendre la parole. Soit toujours physiquement aux Invalides, soit via notre parcours à distance “crever l’écran”, spécifique à la visioconférence et la prise de parole à distance.

visioconference entreprise prendre la parole a distance
Prendre la parole à distance via des visioconférences pour maintenir le lien entre les managers et les équipes

Aujourd’hui, les équipes doivent davantage échanger à distance, y compris avec nous. Donc sur la forme, on a beaucoup plus de formation Zoom et Teams. Sur le fond, on note également un changement important. Avant les dirigeants voulaient convaincre, maintenant ils veulent dialoguer. On a tendance à dire qu’on passe du “mieux dire” au “mieux échanger”.

En somme, c’est tout à fait logique. Les entreprises ont désormais affaire à des collaborateurs éclatés, qui perdent le contact les uns avec les autres. Dans ce contexte, les responsables ont besoin de créer du liant. Cela passe par des managers motivants.

Des demandes spécifiques en cette période où on a davantage besoin de prise de parole à distance ?

Chez Wistcom, on note une très nette augmentation de la demande de notre parcours de formation “Crever l’écran”. Il s’agit de notre parcours 100 % à distance. Il convient à tout type de collaborateurs. Toutefois, en ce moment, la demande vient moins des dirigeants et plus des managers. Lesquels cherchent surtout à apprendre à animer des équipes à distance. On a aussi des demandes pour former les commerciaux, qui doivent désormais vendre leurs produits à distance. Cette formation à la prise de parole à distance permet même en visioconférence de recréer une forme d’humanité dans l’échange.

Outre les règles classiques de la prise de parole en public, on apporte en plus des outils pour réchauffer la conversation. On transmet les astuces sur comment utiliser le coprs, les gestes, les regards. Comment structurer les mots pour de la visioconférence plus particulièrement. C’est une offre très spécifique liée à la situation qu’on vit en ce moment. Elle est également valable pour les événements à distance et événements virtuels.

D’ailleurs, on le voit bien en regardant la courbe de notre activité. En septembre, on a noté un petit coup de mou car les gens s’attendaient à revenir à la vie d’avant. Puis c’est reparti devant le constat que la situation ne changerait pas tout de suite. On a à nouveau eu cet effet en janvier où faute de décision, les dirigeants et managers sont restés dans l’expectative. Puis, depuis quelques semaines, on assiste à une recrudescence de ces parcours car tout le monde prend conscience qu’on va continuer au moins un an encore comme ça.

En quoi prendre la parole à distance est différent de la prendre lors d’un événement ou d’une réunion physique ?

Les deux types de prise de parole n’ont pas grand chose de différent. En réalité, ce qui est différent, c’est que vous avez une caméra. Sinon, la boîte à outil est sensiblement la même. Mais l’utilisation va en être différente pour s’adapter à la caméra.

prise parole distance ecran caméra image
Maîtriser son image, sa posture et sa voix lors d’une prise de parole à distance

Concrètement, on part du postulat de base qu’on ne parle pas pour soi mais qu’on parle pour la personne qui est en face. La question centrale est simple : qu’est-ce qu’entend la personne en face ? qu’est-ce qu’elle retient ? C’est aussi vrai en visio. Sauf que dans ce cas, on a un nouveau vecteur : la caméra, l’écran. Par conséquent, on doit ajouter la question : quelle relation dois-je avoir avec la caméra et l’écran ? Dans les faits, cela implique de vrais changements.

En visio, votre interlocuteur n’est plus la personne, c’est la caméra. Sauf que, la plupart du temps, les collaborateurs l’éteignent. On ne sait pas gérer cette relation à la caméra. Notre propre image nous est souvent inconfortable, elle nous dérange.

Quelles astuces pouvez-vous nous partager pour faire une bonne prise de parole à distance ?

Dans une prise de parole à distance comme en public, on doit toujours maîtriser son image. Mais dans le cadre de la prise de parole à distance, c’est toujours plus délicat. Il faut gérer sa position par rapport à la caméra, maîtriser les lumières, le son…

Une fois l’image maîtrisée, il faut maîtriser le son : la voix, le rythme, le volume… Et toujours garder en tête que les silences sont importants. C’est d’ailleurs la règle de base que Whistcom. En fait, on est avant tout une agence pour apprendre à se taire. En visio, remettre du silence, c’est aussi remettre du confort dans la conversation. C’est passer au-dessus des problèmes techniques. C’est prendre le temps de parler, d’échanger, de comprendre.

Forcément, la visioconférence à ses inconvénients. C’est un format plus volatil, moins engageant. Ainsi, on ne sait en fait jamais vraiment ce que fait son interlocuteur pendant qu’on lui parle. C’est pourquoi on doit maîtriser les mots, l’histoire qu’on raconte. On modifie la forme de l’histoire pour la rendre accrocheuse en visioconférence. Souvent, cela implique de partir sur un format plus court, des phrases plus parlées, un style plus direct.

Le constat qu’on fait, c’est que quand les dirigeants s’expriment, c’est souvent indirect. Ils parlent aux collaborateurs mais ils parlent des collaborateurs à la troisième personne. Ce choix crée d’office de la distance.

Concrètement, pour une prise de parole à distance, comme en public, il convient de respecter les 3 V de la prise de parole : visuel, vocal, verbal. Être bon en visio, c’est aligner ces trois dimensions mais en s’adaptant à des outils différents.

X