Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the expanding financial deserts

Last updated:

Financial deserts are gaining momentum in the territories of France. They are therefore a major challenge that the government and the regions have been addressing in recent years. In addition, the health crisis focuses on the isolation of rural areas and therefore of companies in these territories. To help companies recover, the State is investing 100 billion euros in the Recovery Plan. However, according to theSofos Institute, Think Tank for the Competitiveness of the French Economy,most of the potential benefits of the device will not reach rural areas, due to a lack of sufficient legal, financial and organizational skills. The Think Tank has therefore published in 2021 a study on financial deserts, their causes and issues. As well as recommendations to structure ecosystems in rural territories.

seeking financing business consulting financial deserts rural areas
Financial deserts accentuate the desertification of rural areas, to the benefit of large metropolises.

Financial desert, a phenomenon accentuated by the redistribution of regions in 2016

Whether it is to develop a company, create a company, take over an activity, managers need to be able to surround themselves with the right professionals. They seek access to financial resources and skills relevant to their project. These interlocutors can be other entrepreneurs, venture capital funds, chartered accountants,business lawyers, wealth managers, organizational consultants, public actors, training centers, investors… (1) Moreover, in order to create synergies, all actors must be organised into a structured and dynamic ecosystem.

In contrast, these organized ecosystems are traditionally found in metropolises. A situation that has become even more accentuated with the wider redistribution of regions, intensifying centralization away from rural areas. Thus, on the periphery, in rural areas, companies are confronted with the small number of qualified actors able to support them for their development, their financing or even their current problems.

There are too few actors in the regions capable of taking risks alongside local actors.

2021 study by the Sofos Institute, Think Tank

Desertification of banks, indicative of abandonment?

In fact, in the territories, the bank is often the only interlocutor of the entrepreneur. Nevertheless, they themselves are closing their rural bank branches, again depriving businesses of local contact. Indeed, in 10 years, banks have eliminated 3,500 branches. This represents about 10% of the 36,000 agencies still in operation. To realize the desertification on the territory, it is possible to rely on the distribution of automatic teller machines (ATMs) (2). Which are, moreover, less and less backed by a counter with advisors.

distribution of ATMs in France financial deserts
Banque de France report,“Public access to cash in metropolitan France”,June 2019

Thus, in Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the least well-off departments are Charente (16), Dordogne (24) and Lot (46). At the opposite extreme, only the Gironde (33) and especially Bordeaux are very well equipped. On the other hand, according to Bruno Lemaire, the situation in France is “satisfactory”. And the bill against banking desertification in rural areas was not retained by the National Assembly.

The distribution of ATMs in France also strangely echoes the gaps of experts for companies. It reflects the map of financial deserts.

Apart from the Bordeaux metropolis and some active economic zones (La Rochelle, Pays Basque-Sud Landes, Agen, Poitiers, Niort, Limoges), the rest of Nouvelle-Aquitaine faces a lack of financial skills, in the former Limousin, Charente, South Gironde and North landes regions in particular.

Jean-Étienne Palard, lecturer and member of the scientific committee of the Sofos Institute

Household savings invest little in local economic development

However, financing opportunities are far from being limited to banks. In the territories, the savings of the population are also an underestimated and largely under-exploited economic reservoir. According to the Sofos Institute, financial deserts are also the consequence of “the inability of the financial system to direct household savings towards the financing of companies, especially SMEs”.

development of enterprises investment SMEs eti financial deserts
The savings and investment vehicles of the French are little varied and rarely turned to local companies.

In addition, the health crisis has led to a historic increase in the amount of savings in France (3). Thus, on average over the year 2020, the household savings rate rose by 6.4 points, to reach 21.3% of income in 2020, against 14.9% in 2019. According to estimates by the Banque de France, savings would reach 130 billion euros in 2020. This is already $30 billion more than the government’s Stimulus Plan budget. Moreover, projections estimate the amount of savings in 2021 at 70 billion. That’s 200 billion euros in 2 years.

However, this savings is mostly sterile by being either blocked on a current account, or simply placed in a savings account with a notoriously derisory return. As for investments in the real economy, they rarely benefit the local economy and the development of territorial businesses.

French savers prefer to invest their money in real estate or in euro funds, because there are not enough local savings products.

Study of the Sofos Institute

According to Boursorama, the financial wealth of the French consists of life insurance, retirement savings (40%) and cash (36% of current accounts and booklets). Securities (shares, bonds, etc.) represent 14% of the amounts saved. The remainder (10%) is invested in employee savings. (4)

The place of financing activities at the heart of the territories cannot be reviewed without rethinking in depth the organization of local architecture and its interactions with the social and entrepreneurial world. […] Beyond the taste for risk, it is necessary to reconcile savers and local businesses by making the company the lever of territorial growth… Attracting skills to the territories is another challenge.

Study of the Sofos Institute

For the Sofos Institute, involving the population in the financing of local companies implies above all to structure a network of actors capable of collecting and promoting information on local projects.

Structuring and enhancing the local financing ecosystem to reduce financial deserts

The lack of funds hinders the development of SMEs and mid-caps. As a result, they struggle to invest, recruit, and remain competitive on international markets. To remedy this, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region is investing in measures to encourage the creation of new businesses; supports SMEs in their change of scale towards mid-caps to enable them to internationalise; help with business takeover, transfer, acquisitions…

coworking business incubator third-place network
About 1800 third places for companies in France and a national policy for rural third places to reduce financial deserts.

In rural areas, to overcome the financial deserts, the government and the regions are committed to developing third places. The basis to be able to animate a network and support local companies. According to the mission led by Patrick Lévy-Waitz in his report “Doing together to live better together” of September 2018, the number of third places amounts to 1,800 (1). They would thus be a little more than 220 in Nouvelle-Aquitaine. To boost the creation of rural third places, the State is releasing a budget of 15 million euros. To this is added the budget for the Digital Pass, to the tune of 10 million euros.

Examples of structuring at the local level include the initiative of the Communauté de Communes de la Haute-Saintonge (5). Which seeks to get involved in the economic development of its territory with creators or developing companies. To this end, it structures its assistance around 7 notable axes: advice for the creation of companies, the reception and follow-up of the file for the installation of the project leader; assistance and advice to SMEs/SMIs for investments or recruitment; the preparation of investment aid files for economic projects eligible for public aid; the search for investors and sources of financing; the creation of 4 business incubators, three of which are specialized, and 3 business hotels; the organization and management of business areas; the animation and networking of departmental, regional, national and European interlocutors.

Sources

  1. The State is committed to third places in the territories,Ministry of Territorial Cohesion, June 2019
  2. “Stateof play of public access to cash in metropolitan France”,Banque de France, June 2019
  3. “Thepurchasing power of households’ RDB increases in the fourth quarter of 2020″,Insee, 26 February 2021
  4. The wealth of French households,Boursorama, 1 June 2021
  5. Accompanies Entrepreneurship and Success, Haute Saintonge
Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

Nouvelle-Aquitaine, les déserts financiers en expansion

Dernière mise à jour:

Les déserts financiers prennent de l’ampleur sur les territoires en France. Ils constituent donc un défi majeur à relever, auquel s’attaquent le gouvernement et les régions depuis quelques années. En outre, la crise sanitaire met l’accent sur l’enclavement des zones rurales et donc des entreprises dans ces territoires. Pour aider les entreprises à se relever, l’Etat investit 100 milliards d’euros dans le Plan de relance. Toutefois, selon l’Institut Sofos, Think Tank pour la compétitivité de l’économie française, la plupart des bénéfices potentiels du dispositif ne toucheront pas les zones rurales, faute de compétences juridiques, financières et organisationnelles suffisantes. Le Think Tank a donc publié en 2021 une étude sur les déserts financiers, leurs causes et enjeux. Ainsi que des recommandations pour structurer les écosystèmes dans les territoires ruraux.

recherche de financement conseil entreprise déserts financiers zones rurales
Les déserts financiers accentuent la désertification des zones rurales, au profit des grandes métropoles.

Désert financier, un phénomène accentué par le redécoupage des régions en 2016

Que ce soit pour développer une société, créer une entreprise, reprendre une activité, les dirigeants ont besoin de pouvoir s’entourer des professionnels adéquates. Ils cherchent à avoir accès aux ressources financières et aux compétences utiles à leur projet. Ces interlocuteurs peuvent être d’autres entrepreneurs, des fonds de capital-risque, des experts-comptables, des avocats d’affaires, des gestionnaires de patrimoine, des consultants en organisation, des acteurs publics, des centres de formations, des investisseurs… (1) Plus encore, pour faire naître des synergies, l‘ensemble des acteurs doit être organisé en un écosystème structuré et dynamique.

En revanche, ces écosystèmes organisés se trouvent traditionnellement dans les métropoles. Une situation qui s’est encore accentuée avec le redécoupage plus large des régions, intensifiant la centralisation loin des zones rurales. Ainsi, en périphérie, dans les zones rurales, les entreprises se heurtent au faible nombre d’acteurs qualifiés apte à les accompagner pour leur développement, leur financement ou même leurs problématiques courantes.

Il existe trop peu d’acteurs en région capables de prendre des risques aux côtés des acteurs de proximité.

Etude de 2021 de l’Institut Sofos, Think Tank 

Désertification des banques, révélateur d’abandon ?

Dans les faits, dans les territoires, la banque s’avère souvent le seul interlocuteur du chef d’entreprise. Néanmoins, elles-mêmes ferment leurs agences bancaires rurales, privant à nouveau les entreprises d’un contact de proximité. En effet, en 10 ans, les banques ont supprimé 3 500 agences. Cela représente donc environ 10 % des 36 000 agences encore en activité. Pour se rendre compte de la désertification sur le territoire, il est possible de s’appuyer sur la répartition des distributeurs automatiques de billets (DAB) (2). Lesquels sont, par ailleurs, de moins en moins adossés à un guichet avec des conseillers.

répartition des distributeurs de billets en France déserts financiers
Rapport de la Banque de France, “Accès du public aux espèces en France métropolitaine”, Juin 2019

Ainsi, en Nouvelle-Aquitaine, les département les moins bien lotis sont la Charente (16), la Dordogne (24) et le Lot (46). A l’extrême opposé, seule la Gironde (33) et notamment Bordeaux sont très bien équipés. En revanche, selon Bruno Lemaire, la situation en France est “satisfaisante”. Et la proposition de loi contre la désertification bancaire dans les territoires ruraux n’a pas été retenue par l’Assemblée Nationale.

La répartition des DAB en France fait en outre étrangement échos aux lacunes d’experts pour les entreprises. Elle reflète la carte des déserts financiers.

En dehors de la métropole bordelaise et de quelques zones économiques actives (La Rochelle, Pays Basque-Sud Landes, Agen, Poitiers, Niort, Limoges), le reste de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine fait face à une insuffisance de compétences financières, en ex-région Limousin, Charente, Sud Gironde et Nord des Landes notamment.

Jean-Étienne Palard, maître de conférence et membre du comité scientifique de l’Institut Sofos

L’épargne des ménages peu investie dans le développement économique local

Toutefois, les possibilités de financement sont bien loin de se limiter aux banques. Dans les territoires, l’épargne de la population constitue d’ailleurs un réservoir économique sous-estimés et largement sous-exploité. Selon l’Institut Sofos, les déserts financiers sont aussi la conséquence de “l’incapacité du système financier à orienter l’épargne des ménages vers le financement des entreprises, notamment les PME”.

développement entreprises investissement PME ETI déserts financiers
Les supports d’épargne et d’investissement des Français sont peu variés et rarement tournées vers les entreprises locales.

Par ailleurs, la crise sanitaire a entraîné une hausse historique des montants de l’épargne en France (3). Ainsi, en moyenne sur l’année 2020, le taux d’épargne des ménages a grimpé de 6,4 points, pour atteindre 21,3 % des revenus en 2020, contre 14,9 % en 2019. D’après les estimations de la Banque de France, l’épargne atteindrait 130 milliards d’euros en 2020. C’est déjà 30 milliards de plus que le budget du Plan de relance du gouvernement. Plus encore, les projections estiment le montant de l’épargne en 2021 à 70 milliards. Soit 200 milliards d’euros en 2 ans.

Pour autant, cette épargne est majoritairement stérile en étant soit bloquée sur un compte courant, soit simplement placée sur un compte épargne au rendement notoirement dérisoire. Quant aux placements dans l’économie réelle, ils ne bénéficient que rarement à l’économie locale et aux développements des entreprises des territoires.

Les épargnants français préfèrent placer leur argent dans l’immobilier ou dans des fonds en euros, car il n’existe pas suffisamment de produits d’épargne locaux.

Etude de l’Institut Sofos

Selon Boursorama, le patrimoine financier des Français se compose d’assurance vie, d’épargne retraite (40 %) et de liquidités (36 % de comptes courants et livrets). Les valeurs mobilières (actions, obligations, etc) représentent 14 % des montants épargnés. Le reste (10 %) est placé en épargne salariale. (4)

La place des activités de financement au cœur des territoires ne peut être revue sans repenser en profondeur l’organisation de l’architecture locale et ses interactions avec le monde social et entrepreneurial. […] Au-delà du goût du risque, il faut réconcilier les épargnants et les entreprises de proximité en faisant de l’entreprise le levier de la croissance territoriale… Attirer les compétences dans les territoires est un autre challenge.

Etude de l’Institut Sofos

Pour l’Institut Sofos, impliquer la population dans le financement des entreprises locales implique avant tout de structurer un réseau d’acteurs capables de collecter et de valoriser l’information sur des projets locaux.

Structurer et valoriser l’écosystème de financement en local pour réduire les déserts financiers

Le manque de fonds bride le développement des PME et des ETI. Elles peinent donc à investir, à recruter, et à rester compétitives sur les marchés internationaux. Pour y remédier, la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine investit dans des dispositifs pour favoriser la création de nouvelles entreprises ; accompagne les PME dans leur changement d’échelle vers les ETI pour leur permettre de s’internationaliser ; aide à la reprise d’entreprise, la transmission, les acquisitions…

pépinière d'entreprises coworking tiers-lieux réseau
Environ 1800 tiers-lieux pour les entreprises en France et une politique nationale pour les tiers-lieux ruraux pour réduire les déserts financiers.

Dans les zones rurales, pour palier les déserts financiers, le gouvernement et les régions s’engagent pour développer les tiers lieux. La base pour pouvoir animer un réseau et accompagner les entreprises locales. Selon la mission conduite par Patrick Lévy-Waitz dans son rapport “Faire ensemble pour mieux vivre ensemble” de septembre 2018, le nombre de tiers lieux s’élève à 1 800 (1). Ils seraient ainsi un peu plus de 220 en Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Pour booster la création de tiers-lieux ruraux, l’Etat débloque un budget de 15 millions d’euros. A celui-ci s’ajoute le budget pour le Pass numérique, à hauteur de 10 millions d’euros.

Parmi les exemples de structuration à l’échelle locale, on peut citer l’initiative de la Communauté de Communes de la Haute-Saintonge (5). Laquelle cherche à s’impliquer dans le développement économique de son territoire auprès des créateurs ou des entreprises en développement. Pour cela, elle structure son aide autour de 7 axes notables : le conseil pour la création d’entreprises, l’accueil et le suivi du dossier pour l’installation du porteur de projet ; l’aide et conseil aux PME/PMI pour les investissements ou le recrutement ; le montage des dossiers d’aides à l’investissement pour les projets économiques éligible aux aides publiques ; la recherche d’investisseurs et de sources de financement ; la création de 4 pépinière d’entreprises dont trois spécialisées, et de 3 hôtels d’entreprises ; l’organisation et gestion des zones d’activités ; l’animation et mise en réseau des interlocuteurs départementaux, régionaux, nationaux et européens.

Sources

  1. L’État s’engage pour les tiers-lieux dans les territoires, Ministère de la Cohésion des Territoires, juin 2019
  2. État des lieux de l’accès du public aux espèces en France métropolitaine”, Banque de France, juin 2019
  3. Le pouvoir d’achat du RDB des ménages progresse au quatrième trimestre 2020”, Insee, 26 février 2021
  4. Le patrimoine des ménages français, Boursorama, 1er juin 2021
  5. Accompagne Entreprendre et Réussir, Haute Saintonge
Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X