emplyés and team working in a burgundy openspace business

New Aquitaine, the paradoxes of the job market

Last updated:

New Aquitaine, the paradoxes of the job market

Growing for a few years now, the volume of job offers has increased sharply in 2019: 13% more than in 2018 in the second quarter, 19% in the third, 34% for the last quarter. In France, according to Pôle Emploi, 1 in 4 establishments plans to recruit (1). Proportions that are also found in Nouvelle-Aquitaine since 27.4% of organizations announce at least 1 recruitment project. These figures represent an increase of 1.3 points in 2019, below the 3.1 points of 2018, but still positive. (2) At the same time, the evolution of hiring intentions for the region climbed to 257,721 projects in 2019. That’s 32,790 more than in 2018.

However, if the employment figures are encouraging, it is clear that supply does not always meet demand and that the dichotomy between jobs offered and jobs sought has not finished increasing. Moreover, the Covid-19 crisis has come to put a lead in helping these prospects. The number of jobseekers thus increased by 9.5% in July 2020 compared to the same period the previous year.

Growth in the number of job openings

In terms of job offers, according to the 2019 RegionsJob / ParisJob barometer (3), the Île de France, the PACA region and Occitanie share the podium with respectively an increase in the volume of offers of 34%, 30% and 22%. New Aquitaine came in 6th place with 15% growth.

However, with 372,929 offers (4), the region rises to 3rd place in the ranking and still represents one of the regions where the demand for new recruits is the highest (3).

There is still a strong disparity from one department to another, the economic landscape being very diverse in the largest region of France. Thus, while Lot-et-Garonne benefited from growth of 37%, followed closely by the Landes and Dordogne, it is the Gironde and its 14% growth that accounts for 28% of the region’s job openings.

The Jobi Joba barometer lists the cities in Nouvelle-Aquitaine that offer the most jobs. Bordeaux comes out on top with 37,989 offers, followed by Mérignac and its 9,554 offers, Poitiers (8,036 offers), La Rochelle (8,016 offers), Pau (7,492 offers), Limoges (7,374 offers), Niort (6,978 offers), Angoulême (4,991 offers), Pessac (4,638 offers) and Bayonne (3,956 offers).

In March 2020, however, the number of job vacancies fell by almost 30% before rising to a level close to the pre-crisis level in June (4). The second lockdown once again sounds like a sharp drop in recruitment. It is still too early to know its long-term impact.

candidates job market recruitment nouvelle-aquitaine bordeaux
The growth of the labour market is being undermined by the crisis and will have to be studied in the long term to know the repercussions.

Employment, supply and demand mismatch

If the supply is abundant (excluding crisis), all sectors and all trades are not concerned. Thus, unanimously, the various players in employment and recruitment reveal that recruitment is dominated by sectors such as Industrial Engineering, Production and Maintenance, and Commercial. There is also the construction and health sector.

In these sectors, the most sought-after profiles are maintenance technicians, electricians, nurses, field sales representatives and web developers (Jobi Joba). Uncommon skills that do not facilitate recruitment.

In 2019, more than half of recruitment projects are considered “difficult”. Either because of a lack of qualified candidates (skills gap) or a lack of applications (lack of attractiveness). This figure rises to 72.9% for the construction sector. (1) (2)

At the same time, the types of contracts offered do not appear to be very successful. Thus, almost 75% of the offers are CDIs, an increase of 20% compared to 2018. However, where the Holy Grail was to obtain a CDI, this is no longer what seems to appeal to the new generations, especially the Millennials.

This generation, which by 2025 will account for three quarters of the workforce, aspires to more freedom and autonomy (7). In addition to the desire to undertake, it is above all the dynamics of change that is a concern in the context of long-term recruitment. According to CornerJob, who are less attracted to salary than personal development, 47% of them have changed businesses after 3 to 5 years and almost a quarter do not see themselves keeping their job for more than 1 to 2 years. A fundamental trend that does not facilitate sustainable employment.

In this context, the question of the employer brand, the values of the companies; and a change in HR approach, in particular to the benefit of boomerang recruitment.

Training, between dislove and initiatives

In addition to these societal changes, there is also a more surprising novelty in 2020. Indeed, job seekers are reported to be less and less educated. According to Qapa (7), non-graduate candidates represent 21% of job seekers in 2020 (compared to 15% a year earlier). The barometer paints the same picture for other levels of education. CAP, BEP or equivalent fall from 29% to 27%; holders of the Baccalaureate increase from 21% to 17%; Bac+2 drops from 23% to 14%. Only graduates with longer studies (Bac 3 to Bac 5) are slightly more numerous.

At a time when companies are looking for qualified profiles in a tight job market, such an observation is disruptive. At the same time, national initiatives are pushing young people to train and the workforce not to be overtaken. This is for example the case of the Group “My Advice in Professional Evolution” (7) which seeks to support workers (in particular) in the definition of their career plan and its implementation. Present in New Aquitaine, the group concentrates some 45 main sites, 19 secondary sites and 49 relay sites to be as close as possible to its 3 million target workers and the local world of work.

Covid-19, a lasting impact on the job market in Nouvelle-Aquitaine?

In Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the number of jobseekers fell slightly in the third quarter (-1.1%). However, over the year, the increase in the number of jobseekers amounted to 4.4%. This is slightly below the national figures (+4.7%). The trend is very similar in Gironde. Thus, there are +4.7% of job seekers compared to last year.

Map France distribution of staff in partial activity in June 2020
Distribution of part-time workers in June 2020, Ministry of Labour (11)

These figures are to be taken with hindsight because they do not reflect the reality of the labour market at present. And for good reason, many redundancies and closures of companies have been prevented (or postponed) by state aid. Thus, it is possible that we will see a rebalancing in the coming months. Currently, partial activity schemes have made it possible to cushion the shock of the Covid-19 crisis. Île-de-France and Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes have the most employees compensated in partial activity. 31% in IDF and 11.6% in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. For comparison, they are only 6.6% in Nouvelle-Aquitaine. In total, nearly 4,500,000 employees would have been in partial activity in June. This represents about private sector employees.

Sources

  1. Pôle Emploi, BMO (Labour Needs) 2019
  2. Pôle Emploi, BMO Nouvelle Aquitaine 2019
  3. Hello Work, RegionsJob/ParisJob Job Barometer, Bordeaux, January 24, 2020
  4. Labour market barometer: the recovery is confirmed,RegionsJoB, study published on 26 June 2020
  5. Press release “Jobijoba presents the “2019 Employment Barometer in the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region”, 4 February 2020
  6. Apec, “Millennials, portrait of a generation”, 25 October 2019
  7. Qapa, Press release – Employment barometer in Nouvelle-Aquitaine “Fewer and fewer job seekers graduate in 2020”
  8. My Advice in Professional Evolution, Press Kit 2020
  9. “Jobseekers registered at Pôle Emploi in Nouvelle-Aquitaine in the third quarter of 2020”, DIRRECTE
  10. “Jobseekers registered at Pôle Emploi in Gironde in the third quarter of 2020”, DIRRECTE
  11. Labour market situation as at 20 August 2020, Ministry of Labour
Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

emplyés et équipe travaillant dans un openspace bordeaux business

Nouvelle-Aquitaine, des paradoxes du marché de l’emploi

Dernière mise à jour:

Nouvelle-Aquitaine, des paradoxes du marché de l’emploi

En croissance depuis déjà quelques années, le volume d’offres d’emploi a connu une forte hausse en 2019 : 13% de plus qu’en 2018 au deuxième trimestre, 19% au troisième, 34% pour le dernier trimestre. En France, selon Pôle Emploi, 1 établissement sur 4 envisage de recruter (1). Des proportions qui se retrouvent également en Nouvelle-Aquitaine puisque 27,4% des organisations annoncent a minima 1 projet de recrutement. Ces chiffres représentent une augmentation de 1,3 points en 2019, au-deçà des +3,1 points de 2018, mais toujours positive. (2) Dans le même temps, l’évolution des intentions d’embauche, pour la région, grimpe à 257 721 projets en 2019. C’est 32 790 de plus qu’en 2018.

Pour autant, si les chiffres de l’emploi sont encourageants, force est de constater que l’offre ne rencontre pas toujours la demande et que la dichotomie entre emplois proposés et postes recherchés n’a pas fini de s’accentuer. De plus, la crise de la Covid-19 est venue mettre de plomb dans l’aide à ces perspectives. Le nombre de demandeurs d’emploi augmente ainsi de 9,5% en juillet 2020 par rapport à la même période l’année précédente.

Croissance du nombre d’offres d’emploi

En matière d’offres d’emploi, selon le baromètre 2019 RegionsJob / ParisJob (3), l’Île de France, la région PACA et l’Occitanie se partagent le podium avec respectivement une augmentation du volume d’offres de 34%, 30% et 22%. La Nouvelle-Aquitaine arrive en 6ème position avec 15% de croissance.

Pourtant, avec 372 929 offres (4), la région remonte en 3ème place du classement et représente toujours l’une des régions où la demande de nouvelles recrues est la plus forte (3).

On note tout de même une forte disparité d’un département à l’autre, le paysage économique étant très divers dans la plus grande région de France. Ainsi, si le Lot-et-Garonne a bénéficié d’une croissance de +37%, suivi de près par les +32% des Landes et de la Dordogne, c’est la Gironde et ses 14% de croissance qui représente 28% des offres d’emploi de la région.

La baromètre Jobi Joba dresse le classement des villes de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine qui proposent le plus d’emplois. Bordeaux arrive en tête avec 37 989 offres, suivi de Mérignac et ses 9 554 offres, Poitiers (8.036 offres), La Rochelle (8.016 offres), Pau (7.492 offres), Limoges (7.374 offres), Niort (6.978 offres), Angoulême (4.991 offres), Pessac (4.638 offres) et Bayonne (3.956 offres).

En mars 2020 toutefois, le nombre d’offres d’emploi a chuté de près 30% avant de remonter à un niveau proche de l’avant crise courant juin (4). Le second confinement sonne une nouvelle fois une baisse brutale du recrutement. Il est encore trop tôt pour connaître son impact sur le long terme.

candidats marché emploi recrutement nouvelle-aquitaine bordeaux
La croissance du marché de l’emploi est mise à mal par la crise et devra être étudiée sur le long terme pour en connaître les retombées.

Emploi, inadéquation de l’offre et de la demande

Si l’offre est abondante (hors crise), tous les secteurs et tous les métiers ne sont pas concernés. Ainsi, à l’unanimité, les différents acteurs de l’emploi et du recrutement révèlent que le recrutement est dominé par des secteurs tels que l’Ingénierie Industrielle, la Production et la Maintenance, et le commercial. Viennent également s’y ajouter le secteur de la construction et de la santé.

Dans ces secteurs, les profils les plus recherchés sont des techniciens de maintenance, des électriciens, des infirmiers, des commerciaux terrain et des développeurs web (Jobi Joba). Des compétences peu répandues qui ne facilitent pas le recrutement.

En 2019, plus de la moitié des projets de recrutement sont jugés comme “difficiles”. Soit par manque de candidats qualifiés (déficit de compétences), soit par manque de candidatures (déficit d’attractivité). Un chiffre qui grimpe à 72,9% pour le secteur de la construction. (1) (2)

Dans le même temps, les types de contrats proposés ne semblent pas rencontrer un franc succès. Ainsi, près de 75% des offres sont des CDI, soit une croissance de 20% par rapport à 2018. Pourtant, là où le Saint Graal était de décrocher un CDI, ce n’est plus ce qui semble plaire aux nouvelles générations, et notamment aux Millenials.

Cette génération, qui d’ici 2025 comptera pour les trois quarts des actifs, aspire à davantage de liberté et d’autonomie (7). Outre l’envie d’entreprendre, c’est surtout la dynamique du changement qui pose souci dans le cadre du recrutement sur le long terme. D’après CornerJob, moins attirés par le salaire que l’épanouissement personnel, 47% d’entre eux ont changé d’entreprise après 3 à 5 ans et près d’un quart ne se voit pas conserver son emploi pendant plus de 1 à 2 ans. Une tendance de fond qui ne facilite pas l’emploi durable.

Dans ce contexte, se pose la question de la marque employeur, des valeurs des entreprise ; et d’un changement d’approche RH, au profit notamment du recrutement boomerang.

Formation, entre désamour et initiatives

Outre ces changements sociétaux, on note également une nouveauté plus surprenante en 2020. En effet, les demandeurs d’emplois seraient de moins en moins diplômés. Selon Qapa (7), les candidats non diplômés représentent 21% des demandeurs d’emploi en 2020 (contre 15% un an plus tôt). La baromètre dresse le même tableau pour les autres niveaux d’études. CAP, BEP ou équivalent tombent de 29% à 27% ; les titulaires du Bac passent de 21% à 17% ; les Bac+2 chutent de 23% à 14%. Seules les diplômés de plus longues études (Bac +3 à Bac +5) se font légèrement plus nombreux.

A l’heure où les entreprises recherchent des profils qualifiés sur un marché de l’emploi tendu, un tel constat a de quoi perturber. D’autant que, dans le même temps, des initiatives nationales poussent les jeunes à se former et les actifs à ne pas se laisser dépasser. C’est par exemple le cas du Groupement “Mon Conseil en Evolution Professionnelle” (7) qui cherche à accompagner les actifs (notamment) dans la définition de leur plan de carrière et sa mise en œuvre. Présent en Nouvelle Aquitaine, le groupement concentre quelques 45 sites principaux, 19 sites secondaires et 49 sites relais pour être au plus proche de ses 3 millions de travailleurs cibles et du monde du travail local.

Covid-19, un impact durable sur le marché de l’emploi en Nouvelle-Aquitaine ?

En Nouvelle-Aquitaine, le nombre de demandeurs d’emploi baisse légèrement au troisième trismestre (-1,1%). Toutefois, sur l’année, la hausse du nombre de demandeurs d’emploi revient à 4,4%. C’est légèrement en dessous des chiffres nationaux (+4,7%). La tendance est très similaire en Gironde. Ainsi, on compte +4,7% de demandeurs d’emploi par rapport à l’année dernière.

Carte France répartition des effectifs en activité partielle en juin 2020
Répartition des effectifs en activité partielle en juin 2020, Ministère du travail (11)

Ces chiffres sont à prendre avec recul car ils ne reflètent pas la réalité du marché de l’emploi actuellement. Et pour cause, beaucoup de licenciements et de fermetures d’entreprises ont été empêchés (ou repoussés) par les aides de l’Etat. Ainsi, il est possible que nous assistions à un rééquilibrage dans les mois à venir. Actuellement, les dispositifs d’activité partielles ont permis d’amortir le choc de la crise de la Covid-19. L’Île-de-France et Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes compte le plus de salariés indemnisés en activité partielle. 31% en IDF et 11,6% en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. A titre de comparaison, ils sont seulement 6,6% en Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Au total, c’est près de 4 500 000 salariés qui auraient été en activité partielle en juin. Cela représente environ des salariés du privé.

Sources

  1. Pôle Emploi, BMO (Besoins en Main d’Oeuvre) 2019
  2. Pôle Emploi, BMO Nouvelle Aquitaine 2019
  3. Hello Work, Baromètre emploi RegionsJob/ParisJob, Bordeaux, le 24 janvier 2020
  4. Baromètre du marché de l’emploi : la reprise se confirme, RégionsJoB, étude publiée le 26 juin 2020
  5. Communiqué de presse “Jobijoba présente le « Baromètre 2019 de l’emploi en région Nouvelle-Aquitaine”, 4 février 2020
  6. Apec, “Les millennials, portrait d’une génération”, 25 octobre 2019
  7. Qapa, Communiqué de presse – Baromètre de l’ emploi en Nouvelle-Aquitaine “De moins en moins de demandeurs d’emploi diplômés en 2020”
  8. Mon Conseil en Evolution Professionnel, Dossier de presse 2020
  9. “Demandeurs d’emploi inscrits à Pôle Emploi en Nouvelle-Aquitaine au troisième trimestre 2020”, DIRRECTE
  10. “Demandeurs d’emploi inscrit à Pôle Emploi en Gironde au troisième trimestre 2020”, DIRRECTE
  11. Situation sur le marché du travail au 20 août 2020, Ministère du travail
Plus d'articles
Affichage publicitaire métro
L’affichage publicitaire, un outil stratégique pour l’entreprise
X