Portrait: Martin MALINVAUD, Food Truck Agency

Martin MALINVAUD has always been immersed in entrepreneurship. He was born into a family of entrepreneurs, at the head of a printing and industrial engraving company founded in 1871. This family climate sparked a desire to pursue entrepreneurship from an early age.

Martin MALINVAUD Founder Food Truck Agency

A journey rich in experience, entrepreneurship always in the firing line

Throughout his studies Martin MALINVAUD has not lost sight of his goal: to turn to entrepreneurship. He learned the basics of management, marketing and management during a training in Science and Management Technology. He later joined INSEEC in Bordeaux. Specializing in his preferred path, entrepreneurship. During all these years, he kept in mind the family business, and his desire to get started in his turn.

As a result, he has made his mark on professional experience abroad. In London, within the AXA group, but also in Montreal, Canada, for Messier Designer. This last experience was particularly intense, and revealing for him. For more than a year, he participated in the realization of process design and design setting. This experience was so formative and conclusive that the company’s manager wanted to count him as a collaborator of the company. But his desire to undertake, in line with current entrepreneurial notions, led him to finish his studies in Digital Marketing.

Photo credits: Manon LEPREVOST
Food Truck Agency is a company that revolutionizes the lunch break in the workplace. Photograph: Manon LEPREVOST

The choice of this direction was in response to a strong desire to keep the aging printing and industrial engraving industry, with solutions for the future. It is on the occasion of his last year of studies that he has a real entrepreneurial click. A click that will really kick-start a potential business project. This click took place during a graduation project. During which the students of his class had to imagine and create a business. A dummy project, originally, which came to fruition very quickly, making Martin MALINVAUD a real entrepreneur.

Food Truck Agency, a potential adventure that revolutionizes business power

With two of his classmates, Martin MALINVAUD is thinking about a business project for his graduation work. He finds that food-trucks are a good alternative to eating at work, or near schools. He then set up, with his friends Mathieu MONNEREAU and Boris LEGENDRE, a business project aimed at these mobile food trucks. In his final defence, evaluated by Erwann SIMON, director of CDiscount, he finished second. Erwann SIMON perceives the potential of his idea, following the feedback of the jury, won over by the idea, revealing an interesting market to explore. Thus, with his two comrades, he decided to turn a project of completion into a real company. Food Truck Agency was born in 2015.

From the beginning of the adventure, Martin MALINVAUD and his associates have embarked on many paths. They wanted to find the idea that would bring real added value to the Bordeaux market. A somewhat difficult period, entirely focused on the development of the company. The latter is marked above all by the lack of rest time or benefits. But the passion to undertake was even stronger, to propose an innovative and useful project. The following year, Martin MALINVAUD returned “to the school benches” with the Wagon. A three-month training course in parallel with his project allows him to learn more. During the latter, he learned to code, and acquired concepts that he considered essential to push the company and its concept. He also enjoys computers, and new technologies, which he wants to use right away.

“When you’re an entrepreneur, you have to be a real Swiss knife”

From the project to the realization, towards an evolutionary and innovative model

Martin MALINVAUD continues to maintain strong ties with his family, especially with his brother, who took over the family business. Over the course of the exchanges, they talk about the very large amount of weekly work to be produced. The latter allows to bring satisfaction, but above all the result. A parallel was then created between the family business and the Food Truck Agency. The need to preserve its employees and employees, in order to move forward serenely. During the months following his training with Le Wagon, Martin MALINVAUD embarked on the development of an application and an important database for better management of trucks and order flows. His project is simple. Allow food trucks to be able to park in good locations for a share of revenue, at the foot of companies.

Thanks to its database, it manages the location of each truck on a daily basis, while following orders placed every day. Indeed, employees of companies do not always have much time to eat, and the wait to be served can quickly be a hindrance. With the Food Truck Agency app, customers can order their meal the day before, which will be served at the requested time. Time passes, and Martin MALINVAUD finds himself alone at the helm, his associates having taken different paths. He surrounds himself with a small team of former interns who know the company well, and together they change their business model.

A new business model that shakes up codes

Their new business model is no longer based on the revenue gain from Food Trucks, but on a subscription contract signed by the corporate customers. For a flexible subscription (once a month starting at 250 euros HT, up to once a day at 2000 euros HT), companies provide a location for the Food Trucks available to employees. Before each new collaboration, Martin MALINVAUD sends a questionnaire to employees of companies to find out their tastes and expectations.

This allows it to contact the most relevant Food Trucks, and establish on-site availability. Thus, gradually, he manages 1200 food trucks on the national territory, and brings them the best possible locations. The latter, at the foot of companies with 400 to 500 employees, offers them a real market. And for their part, more shares of their revenue to be paid, which is a considerable advantage over other competitors in the market.

Photo credits: Manon LEPREVOST
Martin MALINVAUD aims to expand its business beyond borders. Photo: Manon LEPREVOST

The Food Truck market is quite unseeded in general, with some independents not hesitating to invest locations that are not intended for them. With the application and management of Food Truck Agency, Martin MALINVAUD is committed to uniting a supportive and caring community, respecting the products served and the customer. To integrate the network, each food truck is evaluated, the quality of its products, its service is analyzed, using a precise quality charter.

If at the beginning of his adventure, Martin MALINVAUD himself started the food trucks he saw, the trend has been reversed. Indeed, he regularly receives new applications from all over France, and travels to meet them. Care is also taken to respect hygiene, which is so important in the food industry. A primary respect in the middle of COVID-19.

A varied solution, at the service of partners, but also of companies

Today, Food Truck Agency has come a long way, and is moving to many sites all over France, especially in major cities. These are the places where large companies set up business. If Bordeaux was the first city of establishment, due to its dynamism and the attachment of Martin MALINVAUD following his career, cities like Paris or Lyon are also concerned. More than 30 culinary styles are available for lovers of fresh produce, on a short circuit, from The American to thai, Japanese or English.

A useful way to combine the useful with the pleasant, with a real position on the “local and fresh consumption”. Indeed, the desire to eat better is part of the needs of employees of companies, who do not have an Inter-Enterprise Restaurant or Canteen. Food Truck Agency has emerged and is developing to provide a pleasant, healthy and economically interesting solution.

Moreover, and given the current health situation, the concept of ordering in advance is totally in line with measures of social distance. By ordering your dish in advance, it avoids gatherings of people, and also limits the wait. The sanitary conditions of food trucks are also closely monitored. Regular checks allow us to see if the quality charter is respected (hygiene, punctuality, friendliness, and quality of dishes). Food trucks can also evolve their menu. However, they must notify Food Truck Agency which then updates its card for orders.

Interesting prospects for the future, for a tenfold development

Food Truck Agency has experienced significant development, but has always made the choice not to depend on investors. This allows us to develop a completely organic business. Development is thus based solely on the funds and knowledge that form the basis of everything. Since their inception, however, they have been able to count on the support of partners such as Incubator (INSEEC Group) or Village By CA for more than a year.

These supports allow Martin MALINVAUD and his collaborators to see bigger, and to look to the future with ambition. If the concept explodes in France in all targeted cities, it plans to repeat the same model abroad. These are countries that face the same problems as France in terms of business restoration. In Europe, for example, Food Truck Agency is interested in Italy or Switzerland.

Bordeaux is a city that is a good reference to identify market developments. In full expansion and this for several years, it sees new food trucks created every week. The company’s market also fluctuates, with the arrival of new companies, moving and development. These are all factors that provide an opportunity to deploy even more, to conquer new markets.

The Food Truck, a mobile kitchen above all

The advantage of food trucks is the ability to move easily, and thus to offer customers a more frequent turnover of the types of cuisine offered. Unlike traditional restaurants, they have no rent to pay, which has allowed them to better get through the COVID-19 crisis, which has had a significant impact on the French economy.

Despite the drop in demand from companies, closed during the lockdown, Martin MALINVAUD and his employees are already anticipating the start of September. A much-anticipated new year, which combines good eating and flexibility, so dear to the heart of Food Truck Agency.

Contact:

Food Truck Agency

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

Portrait : Martin MALINVAUD, Food Truck Agency

Martin MALINVAUD a toujours baigné dans l’entrepreneuriat. Il est né dans une famille d’entrepreneurs, à la tête d’une entreprise d’imprimerie et de gravure industrielle fondée en 1871. Ce climat familial a déclenché chez lui dès son plus jeune âge le souhait de suivre la voie de l’entrepreneuriat. 

Martin MALINVAUD Fondateur Food Truck Agency

Un parcours riche d’expériences, l’entrepreneuriat toujours en ligne de mire

Durant toutes ses études Martin MALINVAUD n’a pas perdu son objectif de vue : se tourner vers l’entrepreneuriat. Il a appris les bases de la gestion, du marketing et du management durant une formation en Sciences et Technologie de Gestion. Il a par la suite intégré l’INSEEC à Bordeaux. Se spécialisant dans sa voie de prédilection, l’entrepreneuriat. Durant toutes ces années, il gardait en tête le business familial, et son envie de se lancer à son tour. 

Il a donc fait ses armes à l’occasion d’expériences professionnelles à l’étranger. A Londres, au sein du groupe AXA, mais aussi à Montréal, au Canada, pour Messier Designer. Cette dernière expérience a été particulièrement intense, et révélatrice pour lui. Durant plus d’un an, il a participé à la réalisation de design de process et de design setting. Cette expérience a été si formatrice et concluante que le dirigeant de l’entreprise souhaitait le compter comme collaborateur de l’entreprise. Mais son envie d’entreprendre, en adéquation avec les notions entrepreneuriales actuelles l’ont poussé à terminer ses études en Digital Marketing. 

Crédits photographiques : Manon LEPREVOST
Food Truck Agency est une entreprise qui révolutionne la pause déjeuner sur le lieu de travail. Photographie : Manon LEPREVOST

Le choix de cette orientation répondait à une volonté forte de maintenir l’industrie vieillissante de l’imprimerie et de la gravure industrielle, avec des solutions d’avenir. C’est à l’occasion de sa dernière année d’études qu’il a un réel déclic entrepreneurial. Déclic qui lancera véritablement la concrétisation d’un projet d’entreprise à potentiel. Ce déclic a eu lieu lors d’un projet de fin d’études. Durant lequel les étudiants de sa promotion devaient imaginer et créer une entreprise. Un projet factice, à l’origine, qui s’est très rapidement concrétisé, faisant de Martin MALINVAUD un véritable entrepreneur.

Food Truck Agency, une aventure à potentiel qui révolutionne l’alimentation en entreprise

Avec deux de ses camarades, Martin MALINVAUD réfléchit à un projet d’entreprise pour son travail de fin d’études. Il constate que les food-trucks sont une bonne alternative pour se restaurer sur son lieu de travail, ou à proximité des écoles. Il monte alors, avec ses amis Mathieu MONNEREAU et Boris LEGENDRE un projet d’entreprise tourné vers ces camions de restauration mobiles. Lors de sa soutenance finale, évaluée par Erwann SIMON, directeur de CDiscount, il finit second. Erwann SIMON perçoit le potentiel de son idée, suite aux retours du jury, conquis par l’idée, révélant un marché intéressant à explorer. C’est ainsi qu’avec ses deux camarades, il décide de transformer un projet de fin d’études en véritable entreprise. Food Truck Agency voit alors le jour en 2015.  

Dès le début de l’aventure, Martin MALINVAUD et ses associés se sont projetés dans de nombreuses voies. Ils souhaitaient trouver l’idée qui apporterait une vraie valeur ajoutée au marché bordelais. Une période un peu difficile, entièrement tournée vers le développement de l’entreprise. Cette dernière marquée avant tout par le manque de temps de repos ou de  bénéfices. Mais la passion d’entreprendre était encore plus forte, pour proposer un projet innovant et utile. C’est ainsi que l’année suivante, Martin MALINVAUD retourne “sur les bancs de l’école” avec le Wagon. Une formation de trois mois en parallèle de son projet lui permet d’apprendre davantage. Durant cette dernière, il a donc appris à coder, et acquis des notions qu’il juge essentielles pour pousser l’entreprise et son concept. Il apprécie également l’informatique, et les nouvelles technologies, qu’il souhaite mettre à profit tout de suite. 

“Lorsque l’on est entrepreneur, il faut être un vrai couteau suisse”

Du projet à la concrétisation, vers un modèle évolutif et innovant

Martin MALINVAUD continue à garder des liens forts avec sa famille, notamment avec son frère, qui a repris l’entreprise familiale. Au fil des échanges, ils évoquent la quantité de travail hebdomadaire très importante à produire. Ce dernier permet d’apporter une satisfaction, mais surtout du résultat. Un parallèle se crée alors entre l’entreprise familiale et Food Truck Agency. Le besoin de préserver ses salariés et collaborateurs, pour avancer sereinement. Durant les mois suivant sa formation avec Le Wagon, Martin MALINVAUD se lance dans le développement d’une application et d’une base de données importante pour une meilleure gestion des camions et des flux de commandes. Son projet est simple. Permettre aux food trucks de pouvoir stationner sur de bons emplacements contre une part des recettes, au pied des entreprises. 

Grâce à sa base de données, il gère ainsi l’emplacement de chaque camion au quotidien, tout en suivant les commandes passées chaque jour. En effet, les salariés des entreprises n’ont pas toujours beaucoup de temps pour manger, et l’attente pour être servi peut vite être un frein. Avec l’application de Food Truck Agency, les clients peuvent ainsi commander leur repas la veille, qui leur sera servi à l’heure demandée. Le temps passe, et Martin MALINVAUD se retrouve seul aux commandes, ses associés ayant pris des chemins différents. Il s’entoure d’une petite équipe composée d’anciens stagiaires qui connaissent bien l’entreprise, et ensemble, ils changent de modèle économique. 

Un nouveau modèle économique qui bouleverse les codes 

Leur nouveau modèle économique ne repose plus sur le gain lié aux recettes des Food Trucks, mais d’un contrat avec abonnement signé par les entreprises clientes. Contre un abonnement flexible, les entreprises fournissent un emplacement aux Food Trucks disponibles pour les salariés. Avant chaque nouvelle collaboration, Martin MALINVAUD transmet un questionnaire aux salariés des entreprises pour connaître leurs goûts et leurs attentes.

Cela lui permet de contacter les Food Trucks les plus pertinents, et établir une disponibilité sur site. C’est ainsi que progressivement, il gère 1200 food trucks sur le territoire national, et leur apporte les meilleurs emplacements possibles. Ces derniers, au pied des entreprises comptant 400 à 500 collaborateurs, leur offre donc un véritable marché. Et de leur côté, plus de parts de leurs recettes à verser, ce qui est un avantage considérable face aux autres concurrents du marché. 

Crédits photographiques : Manon LEPREVOST
Martin MALINVAUD ambitionne d’étendre son activité au-delà des frontières. Photographique : Manon LEPREVOST

Le marché du Food Truck est assez peu solidaire de manière générale, certains indépendants n’hésitant pas à investir des emplacements qui ne leur sont pas destinés. Avec l’application et la gestion de Food Truck Agency, Martin MALINVAUD a à coeur de fédérer une communauté solidaire et bienveillante, dans le respect des produits servis et du client. Pour intégrer le réseau, chaque food truck est évalué, la qualité de ses produits, de son service est analysée, à l’aide d’une charte de qualité précise.

Si au début de son aventure, Martin MALINVAUD démarchait lui-même les food trucks qu’il voyait, la tendance s’est bien inversée. En effet, il reçoit régulièrement de nouvelles candidatures provenant de partout en France, et se déplace pour les rencontrer. Un soin est apporté également au respect de l’hygiène, si importante dans le milieu de l’alimentaire. Un respect primordial en plein COVID-19.  

Une solution variée, au service des partenaires, mais aussi des entreprises

Aujourd’hui, Food Truck Agency a fait un long chemin, et s’installe sur de nombreux sites partout en France, plus particulièrement dans les grandes villes. En effet, ce sont les endroits où s’établissent les grandes entreprises. Si Bordeaux a été la première ville d’établissement, dû à son dynamisme et à l’attachement de Martin MALINVAUD suite à son parcours, des villes comme Paris ou Lyon sont aussi concernées. Plus de 30 styles culinaires sont ainsi disponibles pour les amateurs de produits frais, en circuit court, de l’américain au thaï, en passant par le japonais ou l’anglais.

Une façon utile de combiner l’utile à l’agréable, avec une vraie prise de position sur le “consommer local et frais”. En effet, l’envie de mieux manger fait partie des besoins des salariés des entreprises, qui ne disposent pas de Restaurant Inter-Entreprise ou de Cantine. C’est pour apporter une solution agréable, saine et économiquement intéressante que Food Truck Agency a vu le jour, et se développe. 

De plus, et compte tenu de la situation sanitaire actuelle, le concept de commande à l’avance est totalement en phase avec les mesures de distanciation sociale. En commandant son plat à l’avance, cela permet d’éviter les rassemblements de personnes, et aussi de limiter l’attente. Les conditions sanitaires des food trucks sont aussi suivies de près. Les contrôles réguliers permettent de voir si la charte de qualité est respectée (hygiène, ponctualité, amabilité, et qualité des plats). Les food trucks peuvent également faire évoluer leur carte. Toutefois, ils doivent en informer Food Truck Agency qui met ensuite sa carte à jour pour les commandes. 

Des perspectives d’avenir intéressantes, pour un développement décuplé

Food Truck Agency a connu un développement important, mais a toujours fait le choix de ne pas dépendre d’investisseurs. Cela permet de développer une entreprise totalement organique. Le développement se base ainsi uniquement sur les fonds et les connaissances qui constituent le socle de tout. Depuis leurs débuts, ils ont toutefois pu compter sur le soutien de partenaires comme Incubator (Groupe INSEEC) ou le Village By CA depuis plus d’un an.

Ces soutiens permettent à Martin MALINVAUD et ses collaborateurs de voir plus grand, et d’envisager l’avenir avec ambition. Si le concept explose en France dans toutes les villes ciblées, il envisage de répéter le même modèle à l’étranger. Ce sont des pays qui rencontrent les mêmes problèmes que la France concernant la restauration des entreprises. En Europe, Food Truck Agency s’intéresserait par exemple à l’Italie ou la Suisse. 

Bordeaux est une ville qui est une bonne référence pour identifier les évolutions du marché. En pleine expansion et ce depuis plusieurs années, elle voit de nouveaux food trucks se créer chaque semaine. Le marché de l’entreprise fluctue également, avec l’arrivée de nouvelles société, de déménagement et de développement. Autant de facteurs qui apportent l’opportunité à saisir de se déployer encore plus, de conquérir de nouveaux marchés.

Le Food Truck, une cuisine mobile avant tout

L’avantage des food trucks est la possibilité de se déplacer facilement, et donc de proposer aux clients un roulement plus fréquent des types de cuisine proposés. Contrairement au restaurants classiques, il n’ont pas de loyer à payer, ce qui leur a permis de mieux traverser la crise du COVID-19, qui a eu des conséquences importantes sur l’économie française.

Malgré la baisse des demandes de la part des entreprises, fermées durant le confinement, Martin MALINVAUD et ses collaborateurs anticipent déjà la rentrée du mois de septembre. Une rentrée très attendue, qui conjugue le bien manger et la flexibilité, si chère au cœur de Food Truck Agency.

Contact :

Food Truck Agency

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X